Jump to content

Photo

venom swamp


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

#1
kyros27

kyros27

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • 84 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 11h 31m 3s
I faced a guy the other day who used Mira the Giant Star whose ability is "If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from it instead. While this card is face-up on the field, face-up Level 4 or lower monsters you control cannot be destroyed by card effects."
Venom Swamp states "Monsters lose 500 ATK for each Venom Counter on them. Destroy a monster if its ATK becomes 0 by this effect. During each player's End Phase, place 1 Venom Counter on each face-up monster, except "Venom" monsters."
I had venom swamp on the field, and over time it reduced Mira to 0 atk. Would he be destroyed no matter how many xyz materials he had, or would he be able to last until he received venom counters until he could no longer remove a material?
I thought the ability was a continuous eff so even if he negates a destruction the swamp's effect would still try to destroy him so basically he could negate it 3 times, but nothing would come of it since the effect is still there to destroy his monster.

#2
ohnuts

ohnuts

    Honorable Member

  • Junior Member
  • 796 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 9h 59m 30s
  • Team:[RCKT] Team Rocket
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Mira the Giant Star will detach to protect itself and Venom Swamp will try to destroy it again, the loop continue until Mira run out of Xyz materials and Mira the Giant star will be destroyed.

Posted Image


#3
| MultiJazzBeat |

| MultiJazzBeat |

    Junior Member

  • Junior Member
  • 62 posts
    • :
I agree with rocket.
the only other thing would be Mira would negate the effect, next turn swamp would activate again, and it would continue until she runs out of units.

#4
ohnuts

ohnuts

    Honorable Member

  • Junior Member
  • 796 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 9h 59m 30s
  • Team:[RCKT] Team Rocket
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Venom Swamp will not wait for next turn, it will make Mira continuously detach its Xyz Materials in 1 End Phase and then kill Mira in that End Phase.

Posted Image


#5
| MultiJazzBeat |

| MultiJazzBeat |

    Junior Member

  • Junior Member
  • 62 posts
    • :
Either way, Mira will go down.

#6
kyros27

kyros27

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • 84 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 11h 31m 3s

Mira the Giant Star will detach to protect itself and Venom Swamp will try to destroy it again, the loop continue until Mira run out of Xyz materials and Mira the Giant star will be destroyed.

That's what I was thinking, but the other guy insisted the destruction effect was a trigger effect that activated when a monster was given a venom counter. I had a pretty strong advantage at the time, and the duel was unrated so I didn't want to call and admin or cause an argument over it. ty for replying with answer :D

#7
ohnuts

ohnuts

    Honorable Member

  • Junior Member
  • 796 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 9h 59m 30s
  • Team:[RCKT] Team Rocket
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Stardust Dragon get hit by Venom Swamp and Stardust Dragon can do nothing to protect itself, how can Mira? Venom Swamp's eff that destroy an 0 ATK monster doesn't start a chain.

Posted Image


#8
DefiniteOtaku

DefiniteOtaku

    The Moon Calls ~ Retired Staffer

  • Retired Staff
  • 2,032 posts
    • Time Online: 67d 3h 51m 15s
  • Location:3 inches to the left of reality
Venom Swamp only checks once after a counter is placed once, meaning that Mira would not be checked over and over again.
When a counter is placed again next turn, it will not have its Atk lowered any further, so it is safe.

Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image

I am totally unable to spell charcter-charcater-chararcter-FUUUUUUUU-

Number of DN Staff Successfully Nick-named by Me: 2


Thanks for the awesome sig Releane!
Posted Image


#9
ohnuts

ohnuts

    Honorable Member

  • Junior Member
  • 796 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 9h 59m 30s
  • Team:[RCKT] Team Rocket
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
I thought Venom Swamp will check over and over again, even in 1 turn to see if the monster that ATK become 0 by Swamp is destroyed or not. Are you sure a about this?

Posted Image


#10
The Detonator

The Detonator

    DN's Machine

  • Administrator
  • 3,107 posts
    • Time Online: 90d 8h 52m 29s
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Call of Duty: Black Ops II
TamA and I had a discussion about this I agree with MultiJazzBeat and BlackwingRa because of what Venom Swamp looks for in its effect. Its a continuous effect looking for "a monster if its atk becomes 0 by this effect".
However I can see the point raised by Otaku as well even though in this situation I do not agree with it we may need some further clarification.


Push to test, release to detonate.


#11
dest

dest

    Boneash

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,359 posts
    • Time Online: 29d 44m 25s
  • Team:free agent
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
Ra is right. At least if WC11 is right, I could safe the six sam by sending another but then it got immediatly destroyed after.

---->Ruling FAQ - Clearing up the most confusable rulings<----
---->[How to] Properly reading card texts<----
Posted Image


#12
The Detonator

The Detonator

    DN's Machine

  • Administrator
  • 3,107 posts
    • Time Online: 90d 8h 52m 29s
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Call of Duty: Black Ops II
If "Imperial Order" is removed from the field and "Venom Swamp" and "Ring of Magnetism" simultaneously reduce a monster's ATK to 0, then whichever card was played last is considered to be the card which reduces the monster's ATK to 0.[1]
Based on this ruling I would agree that it is constantly checking until the reduced monster is no longer face-up on the field.


Push to test, release to detonate.


#13
DefiniteOtaku

DefiniteOtaku

    The Moon Calls ~ Retired Staffer

  • Retired Staff
  • 2,032 posts
    • Time Online: 67d 3h 51m 15s
  • Location:3 inches to the left of reality

If "Imperial Order" is removed from the field and "Venom Swamp" and "Ring of Magnetism" simultaneously reduce a monster's ATK to 0, then whichever card was played last is considered to be the card which reduces the monster's ATK to 0.[1]
Based on this ruling I would agree that it is constantly checking until the reduced monster is no longer face-up on the field.

Okay, Tams thought otherwise originally, when I asked him, which is why I used his ruling over my gut instinct.
I'll note this though when dealing with anything related in a similar manner.

Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image

I am totally unable to spell charcter-charcater-chararcter-FUUUUUUUU-

Number of DN Staff Successfully Nick-named by Me: 2


Thanks for the awesome sig Releane!
Posted Image


#14
TamA

TamA

    Elite Member

  • Administrator
  • 1,578 posts
    • Time Online: 96d 3h 50m 25s
  • Team:[EX] The Exile
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Wakayama Railway

If "Imperial Order" is removed from the field and "Venom Swamp" and "Ring of Magnetism" simultaneously reduce a monster's ATK to 0, then whichever card was played last is considered to be the card which reduces the monster's ATK to 0.[1]
Based on this ruling I would agree that it is constantly checking until the reduced monster is no longer face-up on the field.

Given the ambiguous wording of Venom Swamp for this situation, this ruling is the best we have to know whether or not it constantly checks the ATK stats. I'll agree with The Detonator about Venom Swamp constantly checking the ATK values, and not only during the End Phase or when the ATK is modified.

Posted Image


#15
ohnuts

ohnuts

    Honorable Member

  • Junior Member
  • 796 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 9h 59m 30s
  • Team:[RCKT] Team Rocket
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
I said End Phase because Mira need 2 Venom COunters for its ATK to reach 0, and if all Venom Counters on Mira are put by Venom Swamp, it obviously will be destroyed at End Phase.
BTW, what about 2nd eff of Zenmaines if Venom Swamp about to destroy it at End Phase?

Posted Image


#16
TamA

TamA

    Elite Member

  • Administrator
  • 1,578 posts
    • Time Online: 96d 3h 50m 25s
  • Team:[EX] The Exile
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Wakayama Railway

BTW, what about 2nd eff of Zenmaines if Venom Swamp about to destroy it at End Phase?

If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead. Once per turn, during the End Phase, if this effect was used this turn: Target 1 card on the field; destroy it.
The 2nd effect only activates once, even if Zenmaines used its protection effect twice. However, Zenmaines needs to be faceup on the field for it to activate. So, in this scenario Venmon Swamp would destroy it before it has a chance to trigger.

Posted Image


#17
ohnuts

ohnuts

    Honorable Member

  • Junior Member
  • 796 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 9h 59m 30s
  • Team:[RCKT] Team Rocket
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
What I meant is Zenmaines can stay alive if it blast Venom Swamp right?

Posted Image


#18
TamA

TamA

    Elite Member

  • Administrator
  • 1,578 posts
    • Time Online: 96d 3h 50m 25s
  • Team:[EX] The Exile
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Wakayama Railway

What I meant is Zenmaines can stay alive if it blast Venom Swamp right?

Already added that to my previous post.

Posted Image


#19
ohnuts

ohnuts

    Honorable Member

  • Junior Member
  • 796 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 9h 59m 30s
  • Team:[RCKT] Team Rocket
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Oh ok.

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.