Jump to content

Photo

Solved  Mermail Abysspike and missing the timing. (and Atlantean/Mermail chain logic)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

#1
(Kuga)

(Kuga)

    Junior Member

  • Junior Member
  • 30 posts
    • Time Online: 4d 16h 52m 53s
Hey all, I'm reasonably sure that my logic is correct, but I just want to verify the below example to help me get a handle on how this sequence would play out.

Let's say my hand consists of Mermail Abyssmegalo, Atlantean Marksman, Mermail Abyssgunde, and an Atlantean Dragoons. In my graveyard is a Mermail Abysspike.

First, I discard Gunde and Marksman to special summon Megalo; his effect activates. Chain resolves. Add Sphere to hand. Marksman and Gunde trigger as link 1 and 2 of a new chain (Marksman must trigger first due to being mandatory). Pike is special summoned to the field and then a set card is destroyed. The last thing to happen in the game state was that a set card was destroyed per Marksman's effect. The activation timing for Pike is not correct.

So, I just want to be sure that Pike indeed misses the timing in the above situation and I don't get to roll over my opponent even harder with two more hilarious searching effects.


I appreciate any assistance verifying or clarifying the above example.

#2
95apocalypse

95apocalypse

    Member

  • Member
  • 244 posts
    • Time Online: 19d 20h 1m 25s
Yes pike does miss timing

Posted Image


#3
Unorthodoxical-Princ

Unorthodoxical-Princ

    Elite Member

  • In-Game Administrator
  • 1,863 posts
    • Time Online: 117d 4h 31m

Hey all, I'm reasonably sure that my logic is correct, but I just want to verify the below example to help me get a handle on how this sequence would play out.

Let's say my hand consists of Mermail Abyssmegalo, Atlantean Marksman, Mermail Abyssgunde, and an Atlantean Dragoons. In my graveyard is a Mermail Abysspike.

First, I discard Gunde and Marksman to special summon Megalo; his effect activates. Chain resolves. Add Sphere to hand. Marksman and Gunde trigger as link 1 and 2 of a new chain (Marksman must trigger first due to being mandatory). Pike is special summoned to the field and then a set card is destroyed. The last thing to happen in the game state was that a set card was destroyed per Marksman's effect. The activation timing for Pike is not correct.

So, I just want to be sure that Pike indeed misses the timing in the above situation and I don't get to roll over my opponent even harder with two more hilarious searching effects.


I appreciate any assistance verifying or clarifying the above example.


It misses timing.

Head Judge of Pink Bunny Games LLC

YCS Chicago 2012 Judge

Evo Game Regionals Judge 2012

Misty Mountain Judge 2012

Lindenhurst Regional Floor Lead Judge 2012

Future Evo Game Regionals Judge 2013


#4
CutsOnPaperHearts

CutsOnPaperHearts

    Prince of the Crows

  • Junior Member
  • 606 posts
    • Time Online: 25d 5h 9s
Yeah, It misses timing.

#5
EGamerozo

EGamerozo

    Phosphophyllite X Cinnabar Shipper

  • In-Game Administrator
  • 5,614 posts
    • Time Online: 300d 14h 49m 44s
  • Team:[FOG]
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:In the Sylvan Forest, Staying Faithful to A-Cups
Megalo's Search Effect activates in same chain as Gunde and Marksman.
Also You can set up the chain how ever you want, Gunde CL1 to make Pike not miss timing.

EX:
CL1 Gunde
CL2, Megalo
CL3 Marksman

So yes, the way YOU set up the chain would make Pike miss timing, but you could have set it up to make him not miss timing.

Posted Image

Posted Image

^Thanks to Zoi for Bar^

|dA Gallery||GFX Showcase|


#6
Miror B.

Miror B.

    Master of SWOG

  • Chat Moderator
  • 8,116 posts
    • Time Online: 260d 5h 5m 43s
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Under my sis's bed...waiting for you...

Megalo's Search Effect activates in same chain as Gunde and Marksman.
Also You can set up the chain how ever you want, Gunde CL1 to make Pike not miss timing.

EX:
CL1 Gunde
CL2, Megalo
CL3 Marksman

So yes, the way YOU set up the chain would make Pike miss timing, but you could have set it up to make him not miss timing.

Marksman is mandatory and the others are optional. Marksman MUST be CL1.

About Miror

 

 

Think about this for a bit:

'DN experience' indicates how much sensual pleasure you give to your partner. If you play with your deck well, and give the other person a good time, then everyone can get a good experience out of it.

#7
aiwotorimodose

aiwotorimodose

    Blue Mage Apprentice

  • Member
  • 1,720 posts
    • Time Online: 47d 8h 39m 30s
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:GMT/UTC +7
and gunde must be CL2 because it triggered before megalo

Posted Image


#8
EGamerozo

EGamerozo

    Phosphophyllite X Cinnabar Shipper

  • In-Game Administrator
  • 5,614 posts
    • Time Online: 300d 14h 49m 44s
  • Team:[FOG]
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:In the Sylvan Forest, Staying Faithful to A-Cups
Ok So what I learned is wrong..... >_> oh well at least I never played them wrong before.

and gunde must be CL2 because it triggered before megalo

Actually, because of SEGOC, Megalo can be CL2 and Gunde CL3, since they DO activate in same chain, and are both Optional Effect(Surprised Since Megalo was Madatory in OCG)

Posted Image

Posted Image

^Thanks to Zoi for Bar^

|dA Gallery||GFX Showcase|


#9
Miror B.

Miror B.

    Master of SWOG

  • Chat Moderator
  • 8,116 posts
    • Time Online: 260d 5h 5m 43s
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Under my sis's bed...waiting for you...

Ok So what I learned is wrong..... >_> oh well at least I never played them wrong before.


Actually, because of SEGOC, Megalo can be CL2 and Gunde CL3, since they DO activate in same chain, and are both Optional Effect(Surprised Since Megalo was Madatory in OCG)

In TCG they go off in the order they were triggered. Gunde was discarded, then Megalo was summoned. They activate in that order.

About Miror

 

 

Think about this for a bit:

'DN experience' indicates how much sensual pleasure you give to your partner. If you play with your deck well, and give the other person a good time, then everyone can get a good experience out of it.

#10
aiwotorimodose

aiwotorimodose

    Blue Mage Apprentice

  • Member
  • 1,720 posts
    • Time Online: 47d 8h 39m 30s
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:GMT/UTC +7

(Surprised Since Megalo was Madatory in OCG)

I don't know where you get that, but

自分のメインフェイズ時、手札からこのカード以外の水属性モンスター2体を墓地へ捨てて発動できる。このカードを手札から特殊召喚する。この効果で特殊召喚に成功した時、デッキから「アビス」と名のついた魔法・罠カード1枚を手札に加える事ができるまた、このカード以外の自分フィールド上に表側攻撃表示で存在する水属性モンスター1体をリリースする事で、このターンこのカードは1度のバトルフェイズ中に2回攻撃する事ができる。

it's optional too


Posted Image


#11
Unorthodoxical-Princ

Unorthodoxical-Princ

    Elite Member

  • In-Game Administrator
  • 1,863 posts
    • Time Online: 117d 4h 31m

I don't know where you get that, but

it's optional too



Well I do know for a fact that the previous text on DN it was mandatory.

Head Judge of Pink Bunny Games LLC

YCS Chicago 2012 Judge

Evo Game Regionals Judge 2012

Misty Mountain Judge 2012

Lindenhurst Regional Floor Lead Judge 2012

Future Evo Game Regionals Judge 2013


#12
(Kuga)

(Kuga)

    Junior Member

  • Junior Member
  • 30 posts
    • Time Online: 4d 16h 52m 53s
Thanks all for explaining the chains and the order of occurrence.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.