Jump to content

Photo

Solved  Coffin Seller


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1
Eldest808

Eldest808

    Member

  • Banned
  • 184 posts
  • Country: Country Flag
If you activate a XYZ Monster Effect and send the overlay to the grave does Coffin Seller activate and does my opponent take -300 Life Points? Since it goes to the grave as a monster.

Posted Image

#2
cardguy

cardguy

    Member

  • Retired Staff
  • 165 posts
    • Time Online: 35d 3h 26m 39s
  • Location:U.S.
The effect activates.

#3
Miror B.

Miror B.

    Master of SWOG

  • Chat Moderator
  • 8,276 posts
    • Time Online: 274d 4h 59m 31s
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Under my sis's bed...waiting for you...

The effect activates.

Don't mean to intrude but I'd like to know what makes this different from Dimensional Fissure.
I feel honored

 

About Miror

 

 

Think about this for a bit:

'DN experience' indicates how much sensual pleasure you give to your partner. If you play with your deck well, and give the other person a good time, then everyone can get a good experience out of it.

#4
JRHUnknown

JRHUnknown

    Veteran Member

  • Member
  • 313 posts
    • Time Online: 14d 5h 37m 39s
  • Location:England
The XYZ Material leaves the field a XYZ Material and is sent to the Graveyard a Monster Card. Example Sangan won't activate but Dandylion will.
Barbossa (AKA Konami) "The Code is more what you'd call 'guidelines' than actual rules."

Posted Image

#5
aiwotorimodose

aiwotorimodose

    Blue Mage Apprentice

  • Member
  • 1,720 posts
    • Time Online: 47d 8h 39m 30s
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:GMT/UTC +7
definitely won't trigger coffin seller.

Posted Image


#6
Scoop Phase

Scoop Phase

    Member

  • Member
  • 106 posts
    • Time Online: 12d 12h 37m 10s
  • Facebook:~Doh!
  • Location:Everywhere

The XYZ Material leaves the field a XYZ Material and is sent to the Graveyard a Monster Card. Example Sangan won't activate but Dandylion will.


Definitely WRONG. XYZ Material enter the grave as XYZ material and not monster card. The reason why Sangan doesn't activate is because it wasn't sent from field to grave since it was xyz material. The reason why Dandylion effect activates is because it's simply when it's sent to grave, doesn't matter if its monster card or not, as long as it hits the grave, its effect activates.
Posted Image

#7
T3RCX

T3RCX

    It's just T

  • Retired Staff
  • 989 posts
    • Time Online: 23d 18h 29m 44s
  • Youtube:t3rcx
  • Location:Pittsburgh
Logic based on TCG wording says Coffin Seller doesn't work.

OCG rulings say it does work.

Take your pick. Note there is no PSCT for this card (at least I don't think so).

#8
Reaper of the Cards

Reaper of the Cards

    The Ruling drink

  • Head Administrator
  • 3,965 posts
    • Time Online: 217d 3h 26m 53s

Definitely WRONG. XYZ Material enter the grave as XYZ material and not monster card. The reason why Sangan doesn't activate is because it wasn't sent from field to grave since it was xyz material. The reason why Dandylion effect activates is because it's simply when it's sent to grave, doesn't matter if its monster card or not, as long as it hits the grave, its effect activates.


XYZ material enters the grave as a monster card, as any other example of a monster that was something else on the field and changed in its way to the graveyard. The fact that Sangan doesn't get its effect doesn't depend on the fact that it doesn't hit the grave as a monster. It's "from the field to the Graveyard" clause was not true. Keep in mind that a Sangan that was equipped to something like Relinquished is treated as a spell card on the field but switches to a monster card when it hits the graveyard. So, as you can see it doesn't really matter in what "form" the monster begins its way to the graveyard, it always ends up there as a monster card.

As for the Dimensional Fissure VS Coffin Seller text similarity, we can probably "blame" PSCT (or actually, the lack of PSCT) on Coffin Seller.

This is why Dimensional Fissure doesn't have any effect on XYZ materials. "Any monster sent to the Graveyard is banished instead.". When an XYZ material gets detached we are not talking about a monster. That's why Fissure doesn't "see" it as one and allows it to hit the grave. It "checks" what is heading to the grave when that something leaves the field. At that moment it's not a monster card, so it leaves it alone. Also, the "instead" part makes Dimensional Fissure to check everything before it hits the grave, so as to banish it before it gets there. Monsters are not sent to the grave and then banished, they re-route when they leave the field.

Coffin Seller's text is not written in the proper "form" that its rulings suggest. The OCG ruling (http://www.db.yugioh...keyword=&tag=-1) states that the XYZ materials removed still work for the effect of Coffin Seller. That suggests that Coffin Seller checks the "type" of the card when it has already arrived to the graveyard, seeing it as a monster card and inflicting damage. Since that rulings is relatively new (July 20th, 2012) I am inclined to believe that the problem lies in the old Coffin Seller's text, and not in the way that konami wants it used.

That being said, that was a mere rationalization, not anything official (apart from the OCG ruling). I hope we can consider this solved.

images.jpg

Articles:

http://forum.dueling...f-side-decking/ | http://forum.dueling...diate-advanced/ | http://forum.dueling...the-meta-guide/ | http://forum.dueling...k/?hl=archetype

Quotes of epicness!


Most epic quote ever! Thanks TigerLeaf!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.