Jump to content

Photo

Shock Master Vs Wind-up Zenmaines


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
AlgerHiss

AlgerHiss

    Junior Member

  • Junior Member
  • 3 posts
    • Time Online: 4h 41m 49s
  • Location:The llittle grey area between our world and the shadow realm.
Hi, quick ruling question, if I use Number 16: Shock Master's effect, and choose monster, can my opponent use Wind-Up Zenmaine's effect to keep it from being destroyed if I attack that turn? I tried to find a ruling on it, but all I could find was that shock master did not negate continuous effects. My opponent said that Zenmaine's first effect still worked, but I couldn't find anything to verify it. Thank you!
I swear by my pretty floral bonnet, I will end you.~

#2
Radiant Nexus

Radiant Nexus

    ~ Emolga 零 ~

  • Retired Staff
  • 1,936 posts
    • Time Online: 37d 17h 30m 5s
  • Team:s{EX} The Exile
  • Location:Florida
You cannot negate it because continuous effects don't activate, they are always active once the card is on the field.

#3
Pox_Equestria

Pox_Equestria

    Why don't you pass the time by playing a little solitaire?

  • Veteran Members
  • 1,689 posts
    • Time Online: 16d 7h 12m
  • Location:New Jersey
The first effect (detach a material instead of destroying it) is continuous and does not activate, so shock master does not stop it

The second effect (when it detaches a material, destroy a card) is a trigger effect and is negated by shock master
Quote

[10:40:46 PM] VantageSP: No, pox aint a troll
[10:40:53 PM] VantageSP: but he has some dope ***** swagger


gE5ZJ.png

#4
kangtuji

kangtuji

    Veteran Member

  • Junior Member
  • 671 posts
    • Time Online: 13h 9m 42s
Perhaps bests ideas is Light-Imprisioning Mirror / Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror versus Cont. Eff (like jinzo / spirit reaper)

But then again, who knews if there is BKSS rulings :x

You must be new here™ 


#5
skielinfiniti

skielinfiniti

    Member

  • Junior Member
  • 250 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 23h 13m 15s
Shock Master specifically says the effect cannot "activate", and an effect that activates starts a chain. Continuous Effects such as Zenmaines' detach do not activate, but the End Phase effect does and will be prevented by Master.

#6
! ! ! ! Utopia Ray!

! ! ! ! Utopia Ray!

    The Ray of Hope

  • Member
  • 624 posts
    • Time Online: 19d 13h 14m 40s
  • Youtube:mjrules1234mj
  • Location:Behind you
it only negates the destoy effect which is a trigger
Posted Image

#7
 Key

 Key

    ─═╬ Δ Ð ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚ Σ

  • Veteran Members
  • 912 posts
    • Time Online: 55d 6h 51m 26s
  • Team:s{EX} Exiles
  • Country: Country Flag
It has already been state that Number 16: Shock Master does not negate but rather prevents activation.

best_comeback_by_zoisitesarugaki-d73zxxg

 

key_ladd2.jpg

 


#8
Hinks121487

Hinks121487

    - Cyber Jar Master -

  • Veteran Members
  • 1,833 posts
    • Time Online: 58d 3h 2m 6s
  • Team:[Cyber Jar]
  • Location:North Carolina
Since we're on the topic of Shock Master... I get him out and declare "Monster" I attack his lightsworn, and he drops Honest. Pretty sure thats activating it's effect, but wasn't sure since it's from the hand.

Check out my crappy trades! My Trade Binder


request_zps33dbae26.png

 

9f7Z1BN.gif

 

 


#9
ohnuts

ohnuts

    Honorable Member

  • Junior Member
  • 796 posts
    • Time Online: 2d 9h 59m 30s
  • Team:[RCKT] Team Rocket
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Since we're on the topic of Shock Master... I get him out and declare "Monster" I attack his lightsworn, and he drops Honest. Pretty sure thats activating it's effect, but wasn't sure since it's from the hand.

Shock Master will prevent Honest's effect to be activated.

Posted Image


#10
Hinks121487

Hinks121487

    - Cyber Jar Master -

  • Veteran Members
  • 1,833 posts
    • Time Online: 58d 3h 2m 6s
  • Team:[Cyber Jar]
  • Location:North Carolina
DN judge gave the ruling to the other guy saying, "Shock Master negates spell/traps/monsters from being activated. Monsters are activated when they are summoned." >.< Grrrrrr

Check out my crappy trades! My Trade Binder


request_zps33dbae26.png

 

9f7Z1BN.gif

 

 


#11
Pox_Equestria

Pox_Equestria

    Why don't you pass the time by playing a little solitaire?

  • Veteran Members
  • 1,689 posts
    • Time Online: 16d 7h 12m
  • Location:New Jersey
Also note that since honest can't be activated, he has to return the honest to his hand
Quote

[10:40:46 PM] VantageSP: No, pox aint a troll
[10:40:53 PM] VantageSP: but he has some dope ***** swagger


gE5ZJ.png

#12
Hinks121487

Hinks121487

    - Cyber Jar Master -

  • Veteran Members
  • 1,833 posts
    • Time Online: 58d 3h 2m 6s
  • Team:[Cyber Jar]
  • Location:North Carolina
*Writes note* Note taken.

Check out my crappy trades! My Trade Binder


request_zps33dbae26.png

 

9f7Z1BN.gif

 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.