Jump to content

Photo

Solved  Creature Swap vs. Infestation Pandemic


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1
Spoon123

Spoon123

    Member

  • Member
  • 258 posts
    • Time Online: 26d 13h 38m 46s
  • Country: Country Flag
So, I was to my first real life tournament yesterday, and immediately had this issue coming to me in my matchup vs. Evilswarms.

Situation as follows:

It's my turn.
I have a face-up "Red Gadget" on my field, the opponent controls an "Evilswarm Heliotrope" and "Daigusto Emeral". During my Main Phase 1, I activate "Creature Swap", selecting my "Red Gadget". He claims to select his "Evilswarm Heliotrope", then proceeds to activate "Infestation Pandemic".

His view: He gets my "Red Gadget", but "Evilswarm Heliotrope" stays untouched and on his field, as he's unaffected by Spells/Traps when "Creature Swap" resolves. Sounds reasonable.

My view: "Creature Swap" just plain cannot resolve when one of the targets is no longer "valid" and everything stays as it is. It would be better if it was this way, at least for me, so I just claimed that I read it was like that :P

We get a judge, and he himself didn't seem to be 100% sure.

Judges view: "Creature Swap" targets players, not monsters, thus "Infestation Pandemic" doesn't protect his Heliotrope against anything. Which means in the end: I get his Heliotrope, he gets my Gadget. End of story.

I'd just like to know if the judge was actually right, and if so, what is the reasoning behind this?

Thanks a bunch :)

#2
genexwrecker

genexwrecker

    Grapefruit Kid

  • Veteran Members
  • 7,786 posts
    • Time Online: 220d 36m 59s
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:IL
the monsters will not be swapped if a card such as infestation or lance is chained to it or a monster was lanced or infestationed before hand.

also what that judge wasnt correct creature swap most certainly affects the monsters :D

73fz.png

cDmiCbn.png

yU6bUjL.png

ItyCqOB.png

 

If you want to know if a suggestion has been accepted or denied before and it is not in dets heard it before topic feel free to ask me on my profile feed. I know the most about the suggestions and what has been accepted,denied,and suggested in the past.(aka I am a nerd in that section)


#3
Reaper of the Cards

Reaper of the Cards

    God Mode: ON

  • Administrator
  • 3,579 posts
    • Time Online: 177d 16h 34m 36s
A monster affected by Infestation Pandemic cannot be switched for Creature Swap. Even though he had another monster on the field, he can still choose to give the affected monster to you when Creature Swap resolves, which will make Swap fizzle and no monsters to bee switched.

images.jpg

Articles:

http://forum.dueling...f-side-decking/ | http://forum.dueling...diate-advanced/ | http://forum.dueling...the-meta-guide/ | http://forum.dueling...k/?hl=archetype

Quotes of epicness!


Most epic quote ever! Thanks TigerLeaf!

#4
Disorient

Disorient

    Just The Ashes

  • In-game Administrator
  • 1,016 posts
    • Time Online: 110d 36m 30s
  • Team:[AE] A posse ad esse
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:The Dark World. (Seattle, Washington)
CSwap will never be 1 sided, if one player isn't able to give a monster the other person won't give anything either.
^all you need to know

hBovipL.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.