Jump to content

Photo

Battle fader and skill drain


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1
noobdaddy

noobdaddy

    Junior Member

  • Junior Member
  • 2 posts
    • Time Online: 33m 53s
I've come across several ppl using skill drain while i have a battle fader in my hand. once he's on the field, if he's removed from the field while skill drain is on the field, i understand he goes to the grave. However it says on the card that "When an opponent's monster declares a direct attack: You can Special Summon this card from your hand, then end the Battle Phase" the special summon occurs from my hand but do i get to stop the battle phase? if does say "Special Summon this card from your hand, "THEN" end the Battle Phase" because it says "then" i dont have much argument to put up because it does seem to me like an eff that activates on the field. Anyways, do both these things happen simultaneously from the hand or do i only get to special summon him?

#2
Kraziub

Kraziub

    I've seen a lot of things, but this... this is a first

  • Veteran Members
  • 3,569 posts
    • Time Online: 124d 3h 59m 25s
  • Youtube:Kraziub
  • Team:No
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Cloudsdale
It ends the BP
Milk Milk Milk a milk milk milk a milkalodeon

#3
Derpy Hooves

Derpy Hooves

    Member

  • Junior Member
  • 167 posts
    • Time Online: 8d 3h 38m 46s
  • Location:Ponyville
According to the Wiki ....

The effect of "Battle Fader" which Special Summons it and the effect which ends the Battle Phase are resolved as the same effect. The effect activates in the hand, so the effects of "Skill Drain" and "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror" will not negate the effect even though "Battle Fader" is Special Summoned, so the effect which ends the Battle Phase will still be applied.
Posted Image

#4
PerseusStoned

PerseusStoned

    Dueling Network's Lone Wereunicorn

  • Junior Member
  • 1,139 posts
    • Time Online: 23d 12h 35m 13s
  • Team:[TX]Team X
  • Location:Wereunicorn forest
Skill Drain does not stop Battle Fader's effect, which does not seem to make sense, but is an official ruling. This means you still end the battle phase, no matter what.
Like Majora's Mask? Give me feedback on my "Hero of Time" archetype!

Posted ImageMemoriez
> Worker that put the mustard gets fired the same day, he was using that job to pay for his sister's operation
> Goes home, finds video tape of a recording of his sister, saying she's running out of time
> Worker talks to his friend, about to enter a competition that pays out a lot
> You sent Joey Wheeler to Duelist Kingdom


#5
I Am a Mod

I Am a Mod

    Honorable Member

  • Member
  • 1,058 posts
    • Time Online: 21d 1h 20m 24s
  • Team:[TFS] The Flip Side
  • Location:Mod's coming back u.u

Skill Drain does not stop Battle Fader's effect, which does not seem to make sense, but is an official ruling. This means you still end the battle phase, no matter what.

It definitely makes sence
Posted Image

le sig

#6
Releane

Releane

    Ace of the Black Knights

  • Veteran Members
  • 3,515 posts
    • Time Online: 112d 20h 34m 2s
  • Team:[NROC] Neo Reapers of Chronos
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Area 11
It makes sense. Fader activates in hand, like Effect Veiler etc etc.

elliev2_by_releane028-d783mkf.png

rosedragon29_userbar_by_zoisitesarugaki-rXhM4.gif
DQnnpAK.gif
[5:59:41 PM] Asher : You are annoying

Best GFX Artist DNF 2012,2013


#7
jenzopmk

jenzopmk

    Junior Member

  • Junior Member
  • 2 posts
    • :
No, not really. Because even if the effect starts in the hand, It's steal him that's doing it. u c ?

#8
kangtuji

kangtuji

    Veteran Member

  • Junior Member
  • 671 posts
    • Time Online: 13h 9m 42s
And it still goes to banish zone

You must be new here™ 


#9
MetalGearSnake

MetalGearSnake

    Yuri is justice.

  • Veteran Members
  • 682 posts
    • Time Online: 99d 19h 21m 56s
  • Youtube:http://www.youtube.com/user/TimeLegacy
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Gensokyo
Out of curiosity, is Number 16: Shock Master able to use its effect to prevent Battle Fader or Swift Scarecrow's effect?

Posted Image


#10
PerseusStoned

PerseusStoned

    Dueling Network's Lone Wereunicorn

  • Junior Member
  • 1,139 posts
    • Time Online: 23d 12h 35m 13s
  • Team:[TX]Team X
  • Location:Wereunicorn forest
Assuming they activate, then yeah that should work.
Like Majora's Mask? Give me feedback on my "Hero of Time" archetype!

Posted ImageMemoriez
> Worker that put the mustard gets fired the same day, he was using that job to pay for his sister's operation
> Goes home, finds video tape of a recording of his sister, saying she's running out of time
> Worker talks to his friend, about to enter a competition that pays out a lot
> You sent Joey Wheeler to Duelist Kingdom


#11
raidou

raidou

    Elite Member

  • Veteran Members
  • 1,960 posts
    • Time Online: 67d 10h 54m 8s

Skill Drain does not stop Battle Fader's effect, which does not seem to make sense, but is an official ruling. This means you still end the battle phase, no matter what.


makes sense becuase when it hits the field the effect already resolved

#12
Badass_Bunny

Badass_Bunny

    KAWAI ! ! !

  • Junior Member
  • 2,142 posts
    • Time Online: 23d 3h 34m 33s
Skill Drain negates what activates on field and is on field during resolution.


Posted Image
Posted Image




There are two types of deck : Decks you play, and Decks that play you!


#13
noobdaddy

noobdaddy

    Junior Member

  • Junior Member
  • 2 posts
    • Time Online: 33m 53s
Wow, quick responds, thanx all, i will now go make peace by ending battles =D

#14
Pox_Equestria

Pox_Equestria

    Why don't you pass the time by playing a little solitaire?

  • Veteran Members
  • 1,690 posts
    • Time Online: 16d 8h 52m 33s
  • Location:New Jersey
Fader activates in the hand, thus it ends the battle phase

and it's still removed from play when removed from the field
Quote

[10:40:46 PM] VantageSP: No, pox aint a troll
[10:40:53 PM] VantageSP: but he has some dope ***** swagger


gE5ZJ.png

#15
Izanami

Izanami

    Member

  • Junior Member
  • 180 posts
    • Time Online: 3d 4h 32m 54s
  • Location:Japan

According to the Wiki ....

The effect of "Battle Fader" which Special Summons it and the effect which ends the Battle Phase are resolved as the same effect. The effect activates in the hand, so the effects of "Skill Drain" and "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror" will not negate the effect even though "Battle Fader" is Special Summoned, so the effect which ends the Battle Phase will still be applied.


That is correct. Well stated.

#16
 Key

 Key

    ─═╬ Δ Ð ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚ Σ

  • Veteran Members
  • 937 posts
    • Time Online: 64d 7h 29m 12s
  • Team:s{EX} Exiles
  • Country: Country Flag
If you activate Sangan's effect, then chain Call of the Haunted while Skill Drain is active, it won't be negated.
Because Skill Drain negates cards that activates on the field and are face-up when it resolves as Bunny stated; Battle Fader never activated on the field, it's unaffected.

Posted Image


Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.