Jump to content

Photo

vanity's emptiness,condtion or card effect


Best Answer coolchemist2001, 20 July 2013 - 12:41 PM

The chain, resolving in reverse:

 

Cl3: Player B's MST destroying Player A's Skill Drain

Cl2: Player A's Vanity's Emptiness 

Cl1: A meaningless Cl of Player A's Skill Drain trying to activate.

 

In this scenario, and as described in the chain links, a fully resolved Vanity's Emptiness will have never seen a card go the to grave of Player A. Skill Drain went to grave in CL3 (Vanity was not resolved yet). MST belongs to Player B and whereas it goes to grave after the chain has ended, Vanity doesn't mind that because it isn't Player A's graveyard that MST is going to. 

Vanity Destroying itself is an effect that uses a chain link, but is also an effect that requires a resolved Vanity to be face up on the field. 

 

TL;DR version of the story: In the described scenario, Vanity's Emptiness will stay on the field. 

Go to the full post »


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1
myps3doesntwork

myps3doesntwork

    Junior Member

  • Junior Member
  • 84 posts
    • Time Online: 4d 14h 39m 5s
  • Country: Country Flag

vanity's emptiness

 

http://yugioh.wikia....ity's_Emptiness

 

''Neither player can Special Summon monsters. Destroy this card when a card is sent from the Deck or the field to your Graveyard.''

 

ruling acording to wikia

 

''The self-destroying effect of this card activates when the card hits your Graveyard. It starts a Chain.[1]''

 

so if this scenario happens

 

turn player,standby phase

opponents activate ''skill drain''

*no response from turn player*

opponents chain ''vanity's emptiness''

turn player chains ''mystical space typhon'' targeting ''skill drain''

 

CL3:MST

CL2:Vanity's emptiness

CL1:Skill drain

 

MST destroys skill drain, skill drain doesnt resolve  now here is the question:

 

would vanity's emptiness be destroyed by its own effect? or is it a condition and as soon as skill drain touches the graveyard vanity's is destroyed?

 

i guess since vanity's starts a chain and one chain is resolving already i think it wont be destroying ,correct me if im wrong, thanks ;D

 

 

 

 

 



#2
HyperJYGBSP

HyperJYGBSP

    The Galaxy's Honourable Infinity Blaze Galaxy Wizard Marshal

  • Member
  • 3,054 posts
    • Time Online: 120d 10h 6m 12s
  • Facebook:Hyper Cute
  • Twitter:Hyper Adorable
  • Youtube:HyperJYGBSP
  • Team:[DLLR] Team D.O.L.L.A.R.S's Quad Wielding Yoshi (Heh)(And NEVER CALL ME HYPER)
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Singapore - Twilight Of The Gods(Kamigami)[UTC + 8]

Well let's see here

Vanity is not destroyed as it has not resolved yet

CL1:Skill Drain

CL2:Vanity

CL3:MST

 

Resolve

CL3:MST destroys Skill Drain

CL2:Vanity Resolves

CL1:Skill Drain

 

Since Skill Drain is destroyed @ CL3, when Vanity has not resolved yet, Vanity's effect to destroy itself will not activate

 

 

..Or so I say

 

Your reasoning is incorrect though

And Vanity is an effect, not a condition

Because Vanity is mandatory, it will start a new chain, the trigger being in a chain doesn't stop that

 

 

 

 

Vanity isn't optional.It cannot "miss the timing"


Edited by HyperJYGBSP, 20 July 2013 - 10:59 AM.


#3
kinhcan1002

kinhcan1002

    Ruling Addiction

  • Veteran Members
  • 774 posts
    • Time Online: 26d 14h 47m 31s
  • Team:UNKNOWN
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh City

It won't be destroyed in the chain. Since its effect starts a chain, it cannot be activated in middle resolving of a chain. But when the chain resolved, it'll be destroyed by its own effects.

 

P/s: Very bad for me to answer without reading carefully.


Edited by kinhcan1002, 20 July 2013 - 11:14 AM.

---$ It's not right, but it's OK... $---

 

 


#4
MadRest

MadRest

    Nonsensicality

  • Veteran Members
  • 688 posts
    • Time Online: 42d 17h 5m 18s

Yes, it won't be destroyed. Since its effect starts a chain, it cannot be activated in middle resolving of a chain.

The card sent to the Graveyard must be the last thing happens for Emptiness meets its trigger.

The effect is not optional. That only applies to optional Triggers with "when." Cards are sent to the Graveyard when the entire Chain resolves. It is destroyed, since MST goes to the Grave when the Chain has already resolved. Sending doesn't have to be the last thing to happen.


Edited by MadRest, 20 July 2013 - 11:05 AM.


 

 

 

 


#5
kinhcan1002

kinhcan1002

    Ruling Addiction

  • Veteran Members
  • 774 posts
    • Time Online: 26d 14h 47m 31s
  • Team:UNKNOWN
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh City

The effect is not optional. That only applies to optional Triggers with "when." Cards are sent to the Graveyard when the entire Chain resolves. It is destroyed, since MST goes to the Grave when the Chain has already resolved. Sending doesn't have to be the last thing to happen.

 

You're right. I forgot that MST will go to the Graveyard after resolving. In this case, Emptiness will start a new chain after the previous chain resolved, and so I'll be destroyed.


---$ It's not right, but it's OK... $---

 

 


#6
genexwrecker

genexwrecker

    Sailor Scout of ruling knowledge

  • Veteran Members
  • 8,612 posts
    • Time Online: 253d 22h 17m 21s
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:IL

The effect is not optional. That only applies to optional Triggers with "when." Cards are sent to the Graveyard when the entire Chain resolves. It is destroyed, since MST goes to the Grave when the Chain has already resolved. Sending doesn't have to be the last thing to happen.

correct

 

 

...okay u know what im going to get my anti ninja gun


Edited by genexwrecker, 20 July 2013 - 11:12 AM.

 

lDfQq7q.png

Never forget Lightning Laxus! Dn Admin 2-20-14 until 7-6-14

ItyCqOB.png

genex_11.png

 http://i.imgur.com/VWFSyAI.png I own the account genexwreckersucks it is not some one bashing me its just me hating myself.

 

 


#7
myps3doesntwork

myps3doesntwork

    Junior Member

  • Junior Member
  • 84 posts
    • Time Online: 4d 14h 39m 5s
  • Country: Country Flag

remember that mst is turn player's card not opponent, read the situation

 

mmm i got what you said,since its not an optional effect emptiness will trigger after the chain resolution, thanks

 

re-reading the rule in wikia, '''The self-destroying effect of this card activates WHEN the card hits your Graveyard. It starts a Chain.[1]''

 

then again since it cant trigger in the middle of a chain resolution,wouldnt it be contradictory?

or it will trigger AFTER the chain resolution?

 

sorry if im slow but i dont get it T_T


Edited by myps3doesntwork, 20 July 2013 - 11:31 AM.


#8
MadRest

MadRest

    Nonsensicality

  • Veteran Members
  • 688 posts
    • Time Online: 42d 17h 5m 18s

remember that mst is turn player's card not opponent, read the situation

Yes, everyone already realized that.



 

 

 

 


#9
coolchemist2001

coolchemist2001

    Elite Member

  • Ruling Guru
  • 1,996 posts
    • Time Online: 94d 8h 33m 19s
  • Team:[TR] Team Ragnarok
  • Country: Country Flag
  • Location:In Your Head
✓  Best Answer

The chain, resolving in reverse:

 

Cl3: Player B's MST destroying Player A's Skill Drain

Cl2: Player A's Vanity's Emptiness 

Cl1: A meaningless Cl of Player A's Skill Drain trying to activate.

 

In this scenario, and as described in the chain links, a fully resolved Vanity's Emptiness will have never seen a card go the to grave of Player A. Skill Drain went to grave in CL3 (Vanity was not resolved yet). MST belongs to Player B and whereas it goes to grave after the chain has ended, Vanity doesn't mind that because it isn't Player A's graveyard that MST is going to. 

Vanity Destroying itself is an effect that uses a chain link, but is also an effect that requires a resolved Vanity to be face up on the field. 

 

TL;DR version of the story: In the described scenario, Vanity's Emptiness will stay on the field. 


23651768.png

www.youtube.com/watch?v=sguTcUkn0jI

 

 

best_sportsmanship_by_a_team_by_zoisites

 

most_loyal_teammate_by_zoisitesarugaki-d

 

most_helpful_wa_by_zoisitesarugaki-d73zx

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.