Jump to content

Auke1993

Auke1993

Member Since 04 Mar 2012
Currently Viewing Community Index
Offline Last Active Today, 05:33 PM
***--

My Last Best Answers

In Topic: Normal Summoning Monsters Without Tributes vs Tribute Summon

14 May 2016 - 08:28 AM

Elemental HERO Necroshade allows a monster to be Normal Summoned without Tributing.
Without Tributes, it's not a Tribute Summon. Therefore, Domain would not apply if Elemental HERO Bladedge is Normal Summoned to the field using Necroshade's effect.


In Topic: Maxx "C" in Main Phase 1 vs Special Summons in the Damage Step

11 January 2016 - 04:51 AM

The Damage Step only stops a lot of effects from activating a.k.a. starting a chain.

Maxx "C" has already been activated well before that, and has resolved.

The only thing that occurs for Maxx "C" in the Damage Step in this case is the effect being applied. This works, as the effect does not attempt to activate each time a Special Summon occurs.

 

Similarly, Continuous effects also always apply in the Damage Step, unless they specifically state they do not.


In Topic: Normal Fusions/Synchros/XYZ Clarification

30 December 2014 - 05:00 AM

Monsters are only considered a Normal Monster when they have Yellow Border, like Petit Moth, Dark Blade and Elemental HERO Sparkman.
It is possible for Ritual, Fusion, Synchro and Xyz Monsters to have no effects. This however does not make them Normal Monsters. It merely makes them non-effect monsters. Dokurorider, Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon, Scrap Archfiend and Gem-Knight Pearl are examples of non-effect monsters that are not Normal Monsters.

As such, these monsters cannot be affected by cards that only work on Normal Monsters. Or, if only Normal Monsters are safe from an effect, like Justi-Break, the monsters mentioned abmove will be destroyed.
Another thing to note is Daigusto Emeral's 2nd effect. It states it targets 1 'non-effect' monster, as opposed to a 'Normal' monster. Because of this, it is made possible to Summon monsters like Gem-Knight Peal back from the Graveyard, as they are not effect monsters.


In Topic: Armades, Keeper of Boundaries vs Necro Gardna, Rainbow Kuriboh

08 December 2014 - 01:44 PM

As per Armades' text, cards or effects cannot be activated until the end of the Damage Step when it attacks.
Necro Gardna and Rainbow Kuriboh are used in resonse to the declaration of the attack. Due to Armades' effect, tihs cannot be done.

However, Necro Gardna will be usable if it is activated BEFORE Armades declares an attack. Do note however that at that time, if the controller of Armades has another monster, they are able to attack with that monster first, and that attack will then be negated by Necro Gardna.


In Topic: U.A. Perfect Ace vs Black Rose Dragon

16 August 2014 - 05:55 AM

Black Rose Dragon's effect activates, so yes, you can negate it.


In Topic: Stardust dragon V Cata

15 August 2014 - 06:19 AM

Stardust Dragon's effect negates the activation of another card (effect), so it can be used in the Damage Step.


In Topic: Ruling on Gear Gigant X Missing Timing

13 August 2014 - 08:20 AM

Gear Gigant X's Trigger effect is an optional 'when' effect.

This means that the thing that triggers it needs to be the last thing to happen at the time Gear Gigant's effect can activate.

Your opponent has Reckless Greed as Chain Link 1, and Torrential Tribute as Chain Link 2.

Chains resolve backwards, so Torrential Tribute resolves first, destroying Gear Gigant X. This is the moment Gear Gigant X is destroyed, so it wants to activate here. But since you cannot activate something in the middle of a chain that's already resolving, Gear Gigant X has to wait with that until the chain has fully resolved.

Reckless Greed resolves.

At this time, Gear Gigant X's Trigger effect would activate. However, as Reckless Greed's effect was the last thing to happen, as opposed to Gear Gigant X's destruction, the effect cannot activate. It has missed its activation timing.


In Topic: Battlin Boxer Veil vs. Spirit Reaper

12 August 2014 - 07:33 AM

Spirit Reaper does not target.

Spirit Reaper will become Chain Link 1 the moment it inflicts battle damage.
Going by SEGOC, you can place Battlin' Boxer Veil as Chain Link 2.

The chain will then resolve backwards, with Veil being summoned first, and Reaper discarding a card afterwards.

Once again, Spirit Reaper does not target. The only reason someone 'targets' a card in the hand on DN is because that, as long as the hand was shuffled beforehand, is a very good way of making sure the card discarded was chosen randomly.


In Topic: Proxing vs DN? (I guess you could call it that)

09 August 2014 - 04:53 PM

It's fine to use it in Unrated, yes.

Just make sure you tell your opponent beforehand that you're proxying a card, and keep clear communication about it.

You brought up good points.


In Topic: No 13. and No.31 vs Spheerez

01 July 2014 - 03:56 AM

Battle Damage can only be redirected once per battle.

This means that the owner of the monster with lower ATK will take the damage.

 

You can use this as reference: http://www.pojo.biz/...ad.php?t=991229


In Topic: Penguin Soldier clarification

29 May 2014 - 04:44 PM

Relevant text:

 
FLIP: You can target up to 2 monsters on the field; return those targets to the hand.

 

I know as much as when it's destroyed by battle, it cannot return itself, but would it still be able to target itself if it is flipped up and destroyed by battle?

Since it's already been decided it'll be sent to the Graveyard; No, it cannot target itself.


In Topic: XyZ monnsters level

22 February 2014 - 06:39 AM

Hello

 

If I take an XyZ monster by mind control

 

what would be its level ? It doesn't have a Level, it has a Rank

 

Can I synchro summon with it ? No, you cannot.

 

Also when I remove an XyZ from play by (Junk archer) effect what happens to XyZ materials ? Since the Xyz Monster rhey were Xyz Material for is gone, the Xyz Materials are sent to the graveyard.

 

finally, can XyZ monsters be negated by (effect veiler) ? Yes. Xyz Monsters can be Effect Monsters and have effects, so they can be negated by Effect Veiler.


In Topic: D-Hero Diamond DUUUDE.

22 February 2014 - 05:04 AM

Question on Diamond Dude's working when it comes to Onomatopaira

 

I'd assume he auto disregards the cost of sending one, but what about the adding effect? Does that also lose it's cannot add 2 from the same? 

That part of the effect is part of resolution, so it will have all of that. You still cannot add 2 of the same.


In Topic: Ritual Summon/Tribute Summon

21 February 2014 - 07:34 AM

No. A Ritual Summon uses Tributes, but is considered a Special Summon.


In Topic: target

20 February 2014 - 07:46 AM

Targeting happens when you activate a card, at the same time you would pay the cost.

It's not part of the cost, but if you have to target, you do so at the same time you would pay the cost, unless the card text states otherwise.


In Topic: last question for today artifact unleashed

15 February 2014 - 06:27 PM

With Artifacts being only Level 5 so far, then under normal conditions the Xyz Monster will have to be Level 5, yes.

 

Your face-down cards count as unknown for the opponent, and since the opponent can respond via a chain before the Xyz Summon happens, the opponent must be able to know whether the targets are truly Artifact monsters.

Therefore you cannot target Set cards.


In Topic: Cyber Stein Summon vs Solemn Judgment

02 February 2014 - 08:12 AM

Solemn Judgment can only negate inherent summons.

This means Summons that don't come from an effect that starts a chain.

Cyber-Stein's effect starts a chain, therefore is not inherent, and therefore cannot be negated by Solemn Judgment.


In Topic: Polymerization wording..

31 January 2014 - 05:56 PM

Yes, that would be possible.


In Topic: Shooting Quasar Dragon Vs Scrap-Iron Scarecrow

30 January 2014 - 12:38 PM

Scrap-Iron Scarecrow negates only 1 attack.

This means that monsters such as Shooting Quasar Dragon (that can attack multiple times per turn) have 1 less attack to use.

In your example, Shooting Quasar Dragon can attack twice. After Scrap-Iron Scarecrow has been used, one of those 2 remains. So you can still attack once after Scrap-Iron Scarecrow.


In Topic: Solem Warning vs Forbidden Lance

26 January 2014 - 07:45 AM

Lance cannot be chained to Solemn Warning due to their Spell Speeds.

And evne if it could, it cannot be use don the monster that is being summoned, as it isn't considered on the field at the time.


In Topic: hazy flame basiltrice 5 material eff

23 January 2014 - 05:58 PM

5 = 3 or more

5 = 4 or more.

 

It gets all effects.


In Topic: Poseidra, the Atlantean Dragon ruling

17 January 2014 - 12:17 PM

It wasn't summoned by the way written on its card text, so no. It does not get the extra effect.


In Topic: Theoretical Scenario with Spark Dragon

15 January 2014 - 12:18 PM

At the time Spark is on the field, you're already resolving a chain.

You cannot add a chain link to a chain when said chain link is already resolving.


In Topic: rai-oh and mermails

09 January 2014 - 05:04 AM

Marksman, Infantry and Megalo would form a new chain with the three of them.

However, since Rai-Oh prevents searching from the deck, and Megalo's effect is optional, Megalo's effect cannot activate.


In Topic: Mark of the Rose cycling

07 January 2014 - 05:28 PM

As long as Mark of the Rose and the equipped monsters stay on the field, the monster will go back and forth between you and your opponent's control, as stated on Mark of the Rose.


In Topic: Magic Drain and Splendid Venus

04 January 2014 - 06:18 PM

Due to the effect of Splendid Venus, your opponent is unable to negate Magic Drain by discarding a card.

That's why the two can be a good combo.


In Topic: Geargiarmor Ruling

03 January 2014 - 12:31 PM

Cards like Geargiarmor and Guardian Sphinx that flip themselves back face-down with their Ignition effects have been ruled that the effect does not reset when flipped face-down, to avoid infinite use.


In Topic: Few Ruling Questions

03 January 2014 - 03:50 AM

Spell Speed 2 effects cannot be chained to Spell Speed 3 effects.

In addition, when Solemn Warning is used on a monster, that monster has not yet hit the field, so Forbidden Lance cannot be used on it.

 

Since it's your turn, you can active Quick-Play Spells from your hand during any Phase.


In Topic: Hootcake - "once per turn"

03 January 2014 - 03:49 AM

It's not a "Once per turn, you can.. do this and that" effect, it specifically states the effect of 'Madolche Hootcake' can only be used once per turn. All Hootcakes are Hootcake. Therefore, none of them can be used after the initial one.


In Topic: Cyber Network Trap Stun

02 January 2014 - 10:49 AM

The effect of Cyber Network you speak of activates in the Graveyard.

Trap Stun negates Trap Card effects on the field.

Since Cyber Network is not on the field when the effect of it resolves, Trap Stun does not negate it.


In Topic: Fire king avatar yaksha

01 January 2014 - 03:50 PM

It's not stated it's required to be destroyed by card effects to be able to activate the effect.

So therefore battle is still a possibility. Battle destroys a monster. So as long as Yaksha hits the graveyard when destroyed in battle, the effect will be able to activate.


In Topic: Harpie Dancer/Mist Valley Falcon vs Fiendish Chain/Skill Drain

01 January 2014 - 03:49 PM

Harpie Dancer sends the monster back to the hand upon resolution, therefore Harpie Dancer will still be on the field when the effect starts resolving, so the effect will be negated.

 

Since Mist Valley Falcon has a Continuous effect, it is negated by Skill Drain and Fiendish Chain.

Therefore, it can attack monsters without having to return a monster to the hand. After all, the effect that has it do so is negated.

Note that this is only possible under Skill Drain, as Fiendish Chain has an additional effect that doesn't allow the monster to attack.


In Topic: Gorz the Emissary of Darkness VS Number 50: Blackship of Corn

23 December 2013 - 05:49 AM

The effects of Blackship that send and inflict damage occur simuntaneously.


In Topic: Heraldic Progenitor Plain-Coat VS SAME NAME

27 November 2013 - 11:15 AM

Number 18 can only activate its effect if there's at least 2 monsters on the field with the same name.

Lightsworn Paladin and Lightsworn Monk are from the same archetype, but have a different name. After all, 'Paladin' and 'Monk' are not the same word.


In Topic: Gladiator Beast Fusion

22 November 2013 - 04:51 PM

Yes, you are able to use a Gladiator Beast Fusion monster for contact fusion of a new Fusion monster, even if it's of the same name.

However, would you summon a Fusion monster of the same name, you are required to have the to-be-summoned monster in your Extra Deck before returning the monsters to the (Extra) Deck. Which means would you like to sue Heraklinos for Heraklinos, you have to have at least two of them; one on the field and one in the Extra Deck.


In Topic: Question about photon veil

22 November 2013 - 03:37 PM

Your opponent must be able to know if the cards you returned are truly LIGHT monsters.

If you do it your way, you could've returned a FIRE monster, WATER monster and a Spell, and get away with it.
You need to reveal the cards to prove you're resolving the effect properly.


In Topic: Bottomless Trap Hole vs. Dragunity Arma Mystletainn

18 November 2013 - 06:15 AM

Mystletainn activates first, so becomes Chain Link 1.
Bottomless resolves 2nd, so becomes Chain Link 2.

 

Chains resolve backwards.

 

Bottomless destroys and banishes Mystletainn.

Aklys cannot be equipped to Mystletainn due to the fact that Mystletainn isn't there. Aklys was never equipped to something, it was never on the field, so Aklys' effect cannot activate.


In Topic: SCramble !! Scramble !! - No monsters?

17 November 2013 - 06:40 PM

1. You have 0 non-tokens, your opponent has 2. Yes, you can use it.

 

2. Coltwing's effect summons 2 tokens. Since a Token(s) was summoned, Megaraptor adds 1 more token to that with its effect, making 3 in total.


In Topic: Bujingi Hare

17 November 2013 - 06:38 PM

Once during this turn means that if it would be destroyed more than once (that being twice), that it will be destroyed.


In Topic: Photon Strike Bounzer

09 November 2013 - 06:06 PM

Photon Strike Bounzer can only be used in response to effects that activate a.k.a. start a chain.

Effects that make a monster not destroyed by battle (like Marshmallon and Spirit Reaper) are almost always Continuous effects. Continuous effects do not start a chain. Therefore, Photon Strike Bounzer cannot use its effect to negate such effects.


In Topic: Kagetokage

09 November 2013 - 09:17 AM

Yes, if it's an optional Trigger effect that triggers upon the summon of the monster, then you can chain Kagetokage, or use Kagetokage first and the monster you summoned as Chain Link 2 with its effect.
If the opponent would have a car dlike Divine Wrath, it can only be used to stop whatever you decide is Chain Link 2.


In Topic: W Nebula Meteorite

07 November 2013 - 07:07 AM

The monster summoned that has the trigger effect upon summon will be Chain Link 1. W Nebula Meteorite is chained, and therefore that becomes Chain Link 2.

The chain starts resolving. Chain Link 2 reolves: Meteorite flips all monsters (including Yagan) face-up. At this point, the chain is already resolving. A new chain Link cannot be added to a Chain if that Chain is already resolving, like in the example you gave. Therefore, Worm Yagan's effect will make a new chain after the current one is done resolving.

After Meteorite has finished resolving, Chain Link 1 (the summoned monster's effect) resolves.

After this, Worm Yagan (and any other monsters that had their effects Triggered) will form a new chain.


In Topic: Chaos Emperor Dragon And Lightpulsar Dragon

07 November 2013 - 06:57 AM

"You can pay 1000 Life Points; send all cards in both player's hands and on the field to the Graveyard, then inflict 300 damage to your opponent for each card sent to the Graveyard by this effect."

The keyword here is 'then'. That shows that the damage inflicted happens AFTER the cards are sent to the Graveyard. this means it's not simultaneous. Therefore, assuming Lightpulsar Dragon was on the field before the effect resolved, Lightpulsar Dragon's effect will miss the activation timing, as it being sent to the Graveyard was not the last thing to happen, as that was the damage being dealt to the opponent.


In Topic: Ojamamagic

27 October 2013 - 05:45 PM

There is no effect to resolve upon activation, so Ojamagic cannot be activated from the hand.


In Topic: Theinen effect

27 October 2013 - 01:33 PM

There is no PSCT. Theinen the Great Sphinc was never reprinted after PSCT was introduced.

If it would have PSCT, colons and/or semicolons would show in the various effects it has. It doesn't have any here.

We go by the ruling that the ATK gain is optional.


In Topic: Miracle Fertilizer

27 October 2013 - 07:33 AM

The card doesn't say you can't Special Summon more than once per turn, and it doesn't say you can activate just one 'Miracle Fertilizer' effect per turn. So if you have multiple copies, you are able to use all of them on the same turn, would you wish to do so.


In Topic: Sixth Sense and Battlin' Boxer Glassjaw

26 October 2013 - 05:02 PM

Would Glassjaw be sent to the Graveyard by Sixth Sense, then the cards being sent to the Graveyard is the last thing that happens (as long as Sixth Sense was Chain Link 1).

This means that its effect will not miss timing.

 

Would something resolve after Sixth Sense, before Glassjaw has a chance to activate, it will miss timing, as it's an optional 'When' effect. And those effects can miss timing.


In Topic: Tenken Target vs Necro Gardna?

26 October 2013 - 04:57 PM

Tenken is only active on the monster for 1 Phase, which has to be the Main Phase 1 you activate it in.

 

Felgrand's effect lasts until the End Phase, so Felgrand is unaffected by Necro Gardna, as effects that negate attacks affect the monster that wishes to attack.


In Topic: Effect Veiler VS Book of Moon

26 October 2013 - 08:40 AM

Armageddon Knight only needs to be face-up for the activation of the card. It would have said so on the card if it'd need to be face-up to resolve, like most Lightsworn monsters do with their milling effect.

 

To be able to negate a monster's effect with Effect Veiler, that monster needs to be face-up on the field upon the resolution of Effect Veiler's effect. If Book of Moon is chained to the activation of Effect Veiler's effect, to flip Veiler's target face-down, then Effect Veiler is unable to negate the monster's effect, as the monster is face-down when Effect Veiler resolves, as opposed to face-up, which Effect Veiler requires.


In Topic: Magical merchant

26 October 2013 - 07:43 AM

It's not milling as it normally is, since you pick up first. But cards that are picked up from the deck are still considered to be int he deck, so if they're sent to the Grraveyard afterwards (if Macro Cosmos or something similar is not on the field), then it will be considered milling, and effects like Wulf, Lightsworn Beast will be able to be actvated.

 

Since it's not drawing, the 2nd question requires no answer.


Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.