Jump to content

dabestgamer

dabestgamer

Member Since 18 Aug 2011
Currently Not online
Offline Last Active Today, 11:17 AM
***--

My Last Best Answers

In Topic: D/D Necro slime vs Solemn Strike

21 March 2017 - 07:57 PM

D/D Necro Slime

If this card is in your Graveyard: You can Fusion Summon 1 "D/D/D" Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck, by banishing Fusion Materials listed on it from your Graveyard, including this card.

As you can see, there is no semi-colon in this part of D/D Necro Slime's text, so there is no Cost to pay for its activation. Therefore, if the activation of D/D Necro Slime is negated (such as by Solemn Strike), then it will not be banished and will remain in the Graveyard.


In Topic: Chaos Form Clarification for a non-english native please.

16 January 2017 - 08:39 AM

Hello, thank you so much in advance for your time.
I confirm that before posting I conducted a search online for "chaos form rulings" chaos form discussion" and chaos form clarification" . The way the card is worded confuses me.

Its text says: "This card can be used to Ritual Summon any "Chaos" or "Black Luster Soldier" Ritual Monster. You must also Tribute monsters from your hand or field and/or banish "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" or "Dark Magician" from your Graveyard, whose total Levels exactly equal the Level of the "Chaos" or "Black Luster Soldier" Ritual Monster you Ritual Summon."

My question is regarding the banishing of the monsters in the grave, is it only limited to BEWD and Dark Magician? Or can I banish 2 lv4 for the ritual summon of Black Luster Soldier - Super Soldier ? I am working on a BLS ritual deck and this card could be a decent option if it allow any monster to be banished.

Again thank you.

Chaos Form

You must also Tribute monsters from your hand or field and/or banish "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" or "Dark Magician" from your Graveyard, whose total Levels exactly equal the Level of the "Chaos" or "Black Luster Soldier" Ritual Monster you Ritual Summon.

 

It says you can:

A) Tribute monsters

B) banish "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" or "Dark Magician" from your Graveyard

C) both

 

If you look at the wording, you may be able to Tribute any monster(s) from your hand, but the only monsters you can banish from your Graveyard with this effect are "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" or "Dark Magician".

 

You cannot banish whatever monster you want from your Graveyard. If it did, it would say "banish monsters from your Graveyard" instead of what it does now.


In Topic: Stardust Dragon-like effects.

21 December 2016 - 12:04 PM

Stardust Dragon, Herald of the Arc Light, and any other such which makes itself leave the field for an activation Cost of one of its effects is an effect which activates and resolves on the field, regardless of the card itself physically moves to.

 

This means that such monsters are negated by effects which negate a monster's effects on the field, such as Effect Veiler or Breakthrough Skill, you can still pay their activation Cost, but the effect will still be negated.

 

This is present in Card Rulings such as Effect Veiler and Exiled Force.

 

EDIT (so it's all in one post): Cards like Skill Drain and Lose 1 Turn, as stated below, will only negate a monster's effects while that monster is face-up on the field; therefore, if you pay the activation Cost of Stardust Dragon, Herald of the Arc Light, or other such monster effects that make themselves leave the field for their Cost, they will resolve normally.


In Topic: Pay frame omega

01 November 2016 - 02:20 AM

PSY-Framelord Omega

Once per turn, during either player's Main Phase: You can banish this card from the field and 1 random card from your opponent's hand, face-up, until your next Standby Phase.

 

1) This effect of PSY-Framelord Omega has no Cost, so everything happens during resolution.

 

Chain Link 1: PSY-Framelord Omega

Chain Link 2: Fiendish Chain; target PSY-Framelord Omega.

 

Resolve backwards.

 

Chain Link 2: Fiendish Chain, while it is face-up on the field, negates PSY-Framelord Omega's effect and prevents it from attacking.

Chain Link 1: PSY-Framelord Omega resolves, but it is negated by the effect of Fiendish Chain.

 

As you can see, nothing will be banished if the Chain is as you see here.

 

2) If PSY-Framelord Omega's effect banishes itself and another card and if either of the two cards were to no longer be banished before they would return to their original locations, the other card would still go back to where it was.


In Topic: Magician of Dark Illusion after using solemn strike

26 October 2016 - 10:37 PM

Magician of Dark Illusion
● During your opponent's turn, if you activate a Spell/Trap Card or effect (except during the Damage Step): You can Special Summon this card from your hand.

This effect is a Trigger Effect, and it can be activated in response to the resolution of your Solemn Strike, assuming you have activated it during your opponent's turn.


In Topic: absorbing jar

26 October 2016 - 10:35 PM

Absorbing Jar

FLIP: Destroy all Set Spell/Trap Cards on the field, then each player draws 1 card for each of the cards they controlled that was destroyed by this effect. You cannot Set any cards this turn.

 

Chain Link 1: Absorbing Jar

Chain Link 2: some Quick-Play Spell or some Trap Card

 

Resolve backwards.

 

Chain Link 2: that Quick-Play Spell or that Trap Card

Chain Link 1: Absorbing Jar, destroy all Set Spell/Trap Cards on the field, then both players draw accordingly.

 

Absorbing Jar will destroy all Set Spell/Trap Cards when it resolves, so if one of the Set Spell/Trap Cards is made to be face-up before Absorbing Jar resolves, then it won't be destroyed by its effect.


In Topic: Chaos Emperor Dragon and Xyz Materials

08 October 2016 - 06:23 PM

Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End

Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must first be Special Summoned (from your hand) by banishing 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster from your Graveyard. You can pay 1000 Life Points; send all cards in both players' hands and on the field to the Graveyard, then inflict 300 damage to your opponent for each card sent to the Graveyard by this effect.

 

Firstly, as pointed out above, Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End is completely incapable of sending cards to the Graveyard that are not on the field.

 

Second, even though its effect sent an Xyz Monster with Xyz Materials attached to the Graveyard, the effect only sent the Xyz Monster itself to the Graveyard (as that was the card that was on the field). Its effect did not send the Xyz Materials to the Graveyard (which, again, were not on the field). The Xyz Materials were only sent to the Graveyard because the Xyz Monster they were attached to was no longer on the field. Therefore, they will not be counted when calculating the amount of damage Chaos Emperor Dragon's effect will inflict.


In Topic: mystical refpanel ruling

29 September 2016 - 03:37 AM

Chain Link 1: Turn Player - Cards for Black Feathers; banish a "Blackwing" monster from the hand

 

Right here, at this point, the Cost is paid immediately on activation.

Cards for Black Feathers

Banish 1 "Blackwing" monster from your hand; draw 2 cards. You cannot Special Summon during the turn you activate this card. You can only activate 1 "Cards for Black Feathers" per turn.

 

The portion written before the semi-colon must be performed when the card is initially activated and before either player is allowed to respond to its activation.

 

It should go without saying that if the Cost cannot be paid--or more accurately, if the player that wishes to activate the card/effect cannot perform everything required for the activation, then the card/effect cannot be activated.

 

Put simply, if the player wanting to use Cards for Black Feathers doesn't have a "Blackwing" monster in their hand, they cannot activate the Spell in the first place. Also, side note: actions performed for a card/effect activation is not part of the actual effect, because they do not occur during resolution.

 

Chain Link 2: Non-Turn Player - Mystical Refpanel

 

Resolve the Chain backwards.

 

Chain Link 2: Mystical Refpanel resolves, and it will make the effect of Cards for Black Feathers apply to the other player instead.

Chain Link 1: Cards for Black Feathers resolves. Because of Mystical Refpanel, the other player will draw 2 cards, and the player that used Cards for Black Feathers will not be able to Special Summon that turn.

 

As for the list of what does and doesn't work with Mystical Refpanel, it's right here.


In Topic: Solemn strike question

24 September 2016 - 07:56 AM

You cannot negate Summons that occur during resolution of a card effect.

 

This is because you cannot activate cards/effects while another effect/Chain is still resolving.

 

The timing of "when a monster would be Summoned" (before the monster is officially on the field) occurs while the activated Summoning effect is still resolving; therefore, you cannot activate Solemn Strike to negate such a Summon. By the time the effect finishes resolving, the monster is already Summoned, and the timing will no longer be correct (it will be the timing of "when a monster is Summoned", which is not the same as "when a monster would be Summoned").

 

Advanced Heraldry Art

Target 2 "Heraldic Beast" monsters in your Graveyard; Special Summon both those targets. Immediately after this card resolves, Xyz Summon 1 Xyz Monster using those 2 monsters only.

 

This, however, is different. This card's text states that the Xyz Summon occurs after resolution. Therefore, you can activate Solemn Strike to negate the Xyz Summon as it does not occur during resolution of this effect.


In Topic: Chiwen, light of the yang zing vs imperial iron wall

19 September 2016 - 05:38 PM

Chiwen, Light of the Yang Zing cannot be banished if Imperial Iron Wall is being applied. Therefore, if something makes it go to the Graveyard, Deck, or hand after it was Special Summoned by its own effect, that's where it will go.


In Topic: Light-Imprisoning Mirror Activate?

04 September 2016 - 08:03 PM

Light-Imprisoning Mirror

Negate all LIGHT monster effects activated on the field or in the Graveyard.

 

This card was printed in PSCT. In PSCT, any effects that activate will be denoted by a semi-colon and/or colon. Since this text has neither, it does not activate and is, therefore, Continuous.


In Topic: Continuous Effects and Damage Step

16 August 2016 - 07:35 PM

As soon as the monster is flipped face-up, its Continuous Effect will be instantly applied.

 

If a monster with 2000 ATK attacks a Set Flash Assailant, the moment it becomes face-up, its effect will be applied and its ATK/DEF will be decreased depending on the number of cards in your hand, then you proceed with damage calculation.


In Topic: (PSCT) Yang Zing and Metalfoe Timing.

31 July 2016 - 03:10 PM

https://yugiohblog.k...rticles/?p=4514

AND IF YOU DO: <Do A, and if you do, do B>
Timeline: Considered simultaneous. Both happen at the same time.

In your example, the destruction of the effect's target and the Setting of the "Metalfoes" Spell/Trap Card from the Deck are considered to be simultaneous. Suanni, Fire of the Yang Zing will be able to activate if it is destroyed by the effect you described.


In Topic: Acid Trap Hole vs Jinzo

30 July 2016 - 12:14 AM

http://yugioh.wikia....:Acid_Trap_Hole

 

Acid Trap Hole

Target 1 face-down Defense Position monster on the field; flip it face-up, then destroy it if its DEF is 2000 or less, or return it face-down if its DEF is more than 2000.

Jinzo

 Trap Cards, and their effects on the field, cannot be activated. Negate all Trap Card effects on the field.

If Acid Trap Hole is activated and targets a Set Jinzo, once Acid Trap Hole begins to resolve, it will continue to do so. It will flip face-up Jinzo face-up and will not be negated half-way through its effect. Since Jinzo's DEF is 1500, it will be destroyed.


In Topic: Gendo the Ascetic Monk vs Direct Attack

27 July 2016 - 11:13 PM

Gendo the Ascetic Monk

Face-up Attack Position monsters on the field cannot activate their effects.

This Continuous Effect prevents the activation of effects of monsters that are in Attack Position.

Pair Cycroid

This card can attack your opponent directly.

Continuous Effects (such as the above) do not activate. These effects will not be prevented from applying by the effect of Gendo the Ascetic Monk. Pair Cycroid, in your example, can attack directly.


In Topic: Multiple Chains between an attack and the Damage Step?

02 July 2016 - 10:20 PM

Wrong.

 

While it is true that there can only be one Chain directly in response to the attack declaration, you do not immediately proceed to the Damage Step.

 

After attack declaration (and whatever effect/Chain was used in response, if any), you are still in the Battle Step, where there can be any number of Chains. You don't proceed to the Damage Step unless neither player has anything they wish to do during the Battle Step.


In Topic: Lava Golem vs Axe of Despair

22 June 2016 - 01:13 AM

Axe of Despair

When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: You can Tribute 1 monster; place this card on the top of your Deck.

 

When your monster equipped with Axe of Despair is Tributed, Axe of Despair is instantaneously destroyed as it is no longer equipped to a monster. Then Lava Golem is Special Summoned.

 

The text of Axe of Despair states that it can only be activated when it is sent from the field to the Graveyard. Along with it stating "When", it is also an optional effect as it says "you can". Since the last event to occur was the Special Summon of Lava Golem, Axe of Despair's effect cannot be activated.


In Topic: Mecha Phantom Beast vs Ghostrick Scare

22 June 2016 - 12:13 AM

Mecha Phantom Beast Hamstrat

You can Tribute 1 Token, then target 1 "Mecha Phantom Beast" monster in your Graveyard; Special Summon that target.

 

Ghostrick Scare

Target any number of face-down Defense Position monsters you control; change them to face-up Defense Position, count the number of "Ghostrick" monsters among them, and if you do, change up to that many face-up monsters your opponent controls to face-down Defense Position (min. 1).

 

Chain Link 1: Mecha Phantom Beast Hamstrat, Tribute 1 Token and target Mecha Phantom Beast Jaculuslan in your Graveyard.

Chain Link 2: Ghostrick Scare, targeting 1 Set monster.

 

Resolve backwards.

 

Chain Link 2: Ghostrick Scare flips the Set monster into face-up Defense Position, and since it was a "Ghostrick" monster (from what I've gathered from your scenario), Mecha Phantom Beast Hamstrat is changed to face-down Defense Position.

Chain Link 1: The targeted Mecha Phantom Beast Jaculuslan in your Graveyard is Special Summoned.

 

Nowhere in the text of Mecha Phantom Beast Hamstrat does it say that it must remain face-up to resolve. Further, Ghostrick Scare does not negate activations or effects. Hamstrat will resolve normally.


In Topic: Lightning Chidori vs Kaiju

16 June 2016 - 03:05 PM

If a card is to be returned to the hand/Deck, it will always go to its owner's hand/Deck unless explicitly stated otherwise.


In Topic: Does Appropriate draw on activation?

13 June 2016 - 09:00 PM

You do not apply the effect to draw on the initial activation of Appropriate.

 

I do not believe this has changed.


In Topic: Polymerization

05 June 2016 - 08:08 PM

Polymerization

Fusion Summon 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck, using monsters from your hand or your side of the field as Fusion Materials.

As long as you have the required Fusion Materials in your hand and/or on your field, you can use Polymerization. It is not required for all of them to be in one of the two locations.


In Topic: Destiny HERO - Plasma vs Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand

04 June 2016 - 06:43 AM

The Summon of Destiny HERO - Plasma is not an action that starts a Chain; there is no "Chaining" to it. (Not to be confused with "responding".)

 

When Destiny HERO - Plasma is successfully Summoned, its Continuous Effect which negates the effects of all opponent's face-up monsters will begin applying instantaneously. Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand's effect will be negated.


In Topic: Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju vs Counter Traps

23 May 2016 - 06:10 PM

The rulebook tells us that, when a card or effect is activated, only cards and effects of equal or higher Spell Speed may be activated in response.

 

Gameciel, the Sea Turtle Kaiju's effect which negates activations is a Quick Effect, so it is Spell Speed 2.

 

Solemn Strike and Solemn Warning are Counter Traps; they are Spell Speed 3. Furthermore, Spell Speed 3 consists of only Counter Traps. Therefore, only Counter Traps can be activated in response to Counter Traps.

 

In no situation can a Quick Effect Monster Effect ever be activated in response to the activation of a Counter Trap.


In Topic: Magical Mallet vs Opponent's Card

21 May 2016 - 02:28 PM

If a card would be returned to the hand/Deck, it will always go into the owner's hand/Deck unless explicitly stated otherwise.


In Topic: Can Sky Scourge Norleras be Special Summoned from the Graveyard?

08 May 2016 - 07:48 PM

Sky Scourge Norleras
This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by removing from play 1 LIGHT Fairy-Type monster and 3 DARK Fiend-Type monsters in your Graveyard. You can pay 1000 Life Points to send all cards on the field and in both players' hands to the Graveyard, then you draw 1 card.
Because it is pre-PSCT and it does not explicitly specify a location to be Special Summoned from, it can only be Special Summoned from the hand this way. This holds true for pre-PSCT Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning, Chaos Sorcerer, and the like.

 


In Topic: Mind Crush vs Priority

08 May 2016 - 12:32 AM

Fast Effect Timing exists. This logic is generally applicable to all phases in the turn.


In Topic: Performage Hat Tricker vs Wall of Revealing Light

05 May 2016 - 02:31 PM

Wall of Revealing Light has a Cost which has the player activating it pay Life Points; therefore, the decrease in LP is not due to its effect (resolution). Also, it does not inflict any effect damage during any part of its resolution.

 

Even if a card has player lose LP, it is not inflicting damage unless it actually states it inflicts damage. In no way, shape, or form can Performage Hat Tricker be activated in response to the activation of Wall of Revealing Light.

In Topic: Number F0: Utopic Future vs Number S39: Utopia the Lightning

05 May 2016 - 09:15 AM

First, Number S39: Utopia the Lightning doesn't negate anything.

 

Second, the effect of Number F0: Utopic Future which takes control of the opponent's monster that it battled activates at the end of the Damage Step, which is still part of the Damage Step, so Number S39: Utopia the Lightning will prevent that effect's activation.

 

However, Number F0: Utopic Future's continuous effect to not be destroyed by battle and preventing Battle Damage will still be applied, since it doesn't activate.


In Topic: Soul Charge in Main Phase 2

01 May 2016 - 11:19 AM

If a card says you cannot do two things in the same turn, you cannot do them in the same turn.

 

"You cannot do A during the turn you do B."

 

No matter which order you try to do A and B in, attempting to either than the other would result in you "doing A during the turn you did B".

 

In this case, trying to activate Soul Charge in Main Phase 2 after your Battle Phase, you would have conducted your Battle Phase during the turn you activated Soul Charge, which the card clearly states you cannot do.


In Topic: Xyz Materials vs Instant Fusion / Call of the Haunted

29 April 2016 - 11:09 AM

In both cases, the monster Summoned by Instant Fusion/Call of the Haunted was, at one point, made to be no longer face-up on the field (by becoming an Xyz Material, in your case) before the End Phase or before Call of the Haunted left the field. In both cases, the monster originally Summoned by Instant Fusion/Call of the Haunted will not be destroyed by their effects as it is no longer a monster Summoned by their effects.


In Topic: Supply Squad vs Destroying a Card in the Pendulum Zone

21 April 2016 - 10:04 AM

Supply Squad

 Once per turn, if a monster(s) you control is destroyed by battle or by card effect: Draw 1 card.

Supply Squad requires that a monster be destroyed to activate. If your card in the Pendulum Zone is destroyed, it is your Spell Card being destroyed and notmonster so it will not activate.

 

Performage Plushfire
If this card on the field is destroyed by battle or card effect: You can Special Summon 1 "Performage" monster from your hand or Deck, except "Performage Plushfire".

After Performage Plushfire is destroyed, it will be in a location where it is a monster, so it does activate. It does not matter where it was when it got destroyed.


In Topic: Stellarknight Delteros vs Being Sent as an Xyz Material

17 April 2016 - 09:08 PM

If this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: You can Special Summon 1 "tellarknight" monster from your hand or Deck.

 

Xyz Materials are not on the field. It cannot activate if it was sent to the Graveyard while it was an Xyz Material.


In Topic: Mithra and Eidos

16 April 2016 - 08:09 PM

Both contain the following text:

 

 

(You can only gain this effect once per turn.)

 

You cannot gain the effect to Normal/Tribute Summon in addition your Normal Summon/Set that turn more than once.

 

Therefore, such effects can only grant, at most, two Normal Summons over the course of the entire turn with an effect that has this text (your regular Normal Summon, and one additional Normal Summon).


In Topic: Kozmojo vs Dark Law

15 April 2016 - 10:34 PM

Target 1 "Kozmo" monster you control; destroy it, and if you do, banish 1 card your opponent controls or in their Graveyard. You can only activate 1 "Kozmojo" per turn.

Following the text written, you target a "Kozmo" monster you control on activation. When resolving, you destroy the target, and it will be banished since Masked HERO Dark Law is still applying. You don't banish a card until you destroy the monster you targeted.


In Topic: Cursed Bamboo Sword

15 April 2016 - 10:58 AM

I believe you're referring to this effect of Cursed Bamboo Sword?

"You can target 1 other "Bamboo Sword" card you control; return it to the hand, and if you do, the equipped monster can attack your opponent directly this turn."

 

That effect is an Ignition-like Effect, which is Spell Speed 1 and not Spell Speed 2. Therefore, your Chain is not legal.

 

Even if you could, you would not be able to return Golden Bamboo Sword to your hand because Golden Bamboo Sword is a Normal Spell (rather, it is not a card that remains face-up after the Chain resolves); once it is activated, you cannot return it from the field to the hand/Deck by a card effect and it will go to the Graveyard after resolution.


In Topic: Does D/D/D Wave Oblivion King Caesar Ragnarok target?

13 April 2016 - 04:12 PM

You cannot compare D/D/D Wave Oblivion King Caesar Ragnarok to Thousand-Eyes Restrict, regarding the text which equips an opponent's monster, because the former was printed using PSCT while the latter was not.

 

Since D/D/D Wave Oblivion King Caesar Ragnarok uses PSCT; the only thing it targets is the "D/D" or "Dark Contract" card to be returned to the hand since that is exactly what it says it targets. It does not target the monster to be equipped because it does not state it targets an opponent's face-up monster.

 

Thousand-Eyes Restrict does not have PSCT (as it was never reprinted from Dawn of the Xyz onward), so you cannot use PSCT logic for it. In old text, "select" usually means to target, but you should always check rulings. In the case of Thousand-Eyes Restrict, its effect targets the monster to be equipped.


In Topic: Obelisk the Tormentor vs Scapegoat Tokens

11 April 2016 - 01:53 PM

A Tribute Summon is simply a Normal Summon that requires Tributes depending on the Level (or, in this case, text) of the monster you intend to Summon.

 

Normal Summoning Obelisk requires 3 Tributes. That's a Tribute Summon, which Scapegoat says the Tokens it Summons cannot be used for.


In Topic: Number 38: Hope Harbinger vs Monster Effects

09 April 2016 - 04:55 PM

That effect of Number 38: Hope Harbinger Dragon Titanic Galaxy cannot activate in response to the activation of Kozmo Farmgirl. A Spell Card or Spell effect is not being activated.

 

If it could respond to monster effect activations, it would make that distinction in its text since it specifies Spells. However, since it only specifies Spells here, it can only respond to the activation of a Spell Card or Spell effect.


In Topic: Allure of Darkness

07 April 2016 - 10:59 AM

A card that has your opponent do something would specify as much in its card text.


In Topic: Daigusto Sphreez v D/D/D Oracle King D'Arc

05 April 2016 - 06:03 PM

No. Daigusto Sphreeze's effect just changes who is taking the Battle Damage.

 

The damage being inflicted to the player controlling D/D/D Oracle King d'Arc is still Battle Damage, not effect damage. They will not gain LP.


In Topic: Multiple Chicken Games

22 March 2016 - 09:47 AM

It does not state "You can only activate/use this effect of "Chicken Game" once per turn."

 

A player may activate and use the effects of multiple copies of "Chicken Game".


In Topic: Buster Blader, the Dragon Destroyer Swordsman vs Shooting Star Bow - Ceal

17 March 2016 - 08:35 PM

This card cannot attack directly.
 

The equipped monster loses 1000 ATK, but it can attack your opponent directly.

 

An effect which states that a player or card cannot do something will always take precedence over an effect that says they can.

 

Buster Blader, the Dragon Destroyer Swordsman, even with Shooting Star Bow - Ceal equipped to it, cannot attack directly.


In Topic: Odd-Eyes Absolute Dragon vs Being Detached

17 March 2016 - 08:31 PM

If this Xyz Summoned card is sent to the Graveyard: You can Special Summon 1 "Odd-Eyes" monster from your Extra Deck, except "Odd-Eyes Absolute Dragon".
 
It wasn't sent to the Graveyard as an Xyz Summoned monster; it was sent to the Graveyard while it was Xyz Material.
 
So the answer is: no.

In Topic: D/D/D Oracle King d'Arc vs Chicken Game

16 March 2016 - 08:28 PM

If an effect does not state "damage", it doesn't inflict effect damage when applying that part of the text; therefore, d'Arc will not apply.


In Topic: D/D/D Cursed King Siegfried vs Normal Spell/Traps

16 March 2016 - 10:50 AM

Chain Link 1: Toon Briefcase/Raigeki

Chain Link 2: D/D/D Siegfried

 

Resolve backwards.

 

Siegfried resolves and negates Briefcase/Raigeki.

Briefcase/Raigeki resolve, but they are negated.

 

The effects resolve when they normally do, when Chain Link 1 resolves; they're just negated by Siegfried. They don't re-apply and allow you to use their effects later just because Siegfried specifies a duration for its own effect.


In Topic: Merlin vs Herald of Ultimateness

11 March 2016 - 08:48 AM

During either player's turn: You can banish this card from your Graveyard; immediately after this effect resolves, Xyz Summon 1 "Noble Knight" Xyz Monster using monsters you control.
 
Note that this effect states "immediately after this effect resolves", meaning the Synchro/Xyz Summon will not occur during resolution of a card effect. Therefore, Herald of Ultimateness can activate and negate the Synchro/Xyz Summon, provided Merlin is not being activated at Chain Link 2 or higher.

In Topic: Number 23: Lancelot vs Majester Paladin / Pendulum Scales

10 March 2016 - 07:57 AM

1) Correct. Majester's effect activates upon its Xyz Summon. It doesn't re-activate in the End Phase to add a card, so Number 23: Lancelot, Dark Knight of the Underworld will not be activated during the End Phase when you apply the effect of Majester.

 

2) A Spell or Trap Card whose activation is negated is not considered to be on the field. Pendulums will only go to the Extra Deck face-up if they would be sent from the field to the Graveyard. If you negate the activation of a Pendulum Card (being placed in a Pendulum Zone), it's never considered to be on the field, so it will be sent to the Graveyard.


In Topic: Reptilianne Servant vs Setting Monsters

05 March 2016 - 05:32 AM

Are you asking if a monster can still be Set while Reptilianne Servant's effect is applying? If so, then yes, you can still Set a monster because a Set is not a Normal Summon.


In Topic: Can Card Guard prevent its own destruction?

29 February 2016 - 10:50 PM

If this card is Normal or Special Summoned: Place 1 Guard Counter on it. This card gains 300 ATK for each Guard Counter on it. Once per turn: You can target 1 other face-up card you control; remove 1 Guard Counter from this card, and if you do, place 1 Guard Counter on that target (if that card would ever be destroyed, remove 1 Guard Counter from it instead).

 

Its text specifies the target you place the Guard Counter on and not itself. It cannot remove a Guard Counter from itself to keep from being destroyed.


In Topic: Star Seraph Sovereignty

29 February 2016 - 03:46 PM

> Normal Summon Star Seraph Scepter.

> Chain Link 1: Star Seraph Scepter

> Chain Link 2: Star Seraph Sovereignty (hand)

> Resolve the Chain backwards.
> Chain Link 2 resolves: Star Seraph Sovereignty is Special Summoned and you draw 1 card, then can Special Summon the drawn card if it is a "Star Seraph" monster.
> Chain Link 1 resolves: Add a "Star Seraph" monster from Deck to hand, except Star Seraph Scepter.
 
If you added a new Star Seraph Sovereignty to your hand, it can activate because, in the previous Chain, a "Star Seraph" monster was Special Summoned. It is considered responding to (not "Chaining" to) that Summon, even though it was not in the hand yet.
 
There was even an article posted on Konami's site explaining this exact scenario.

Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.