Jump to content

dabestgamer

dabestgamer

Member Since 18 Aug 2011
Currently Not online
Offline Last Active Today, 11:17 AM
***--

In Topic: Certain Chain Rulings

25 March 2017 - 11:33 PM

Any card effect that activates which Special Summons a monster(s) has that monster(s) Summoned during resolution of those effects (or immediately after resolution, if the card says so). The PSY-Framegears are no exception.

 

When you activate the PSY-Framegears in the hand, you must reveal them to show that they are being activated.

 

Solemn Strike can, of course, be activated in response to the activation of the PSY-Framegears like it would in response to any other monster effect. However, it cannot be used to negate the Special Summon itself because you cannot activate cards/effects while another effect/Chain is still resolving.

 

As for your Chain...

 

Chain Link 1: Some monster effect

Chain Link 2: PSY-Framegear Gamma

Chain Link 3: Vanity's Emptiness

 

Resolve backwards.

 

Chain Link 3: Vanity's Emptiness resolves.

Chain Link 2: PSY-Framegear Gamma; however, since Vanity's Emptiness is being applied, you cannot Special Summon it and PSY-Frame Driver. Therefore, the two cards you would have Summoned remain in their respective locations (you do not discard). Since you did not Special Summon, PSY-Framegear Gamma's effect will not negate the activation of the Chain Link 1 monster effect and, of course, will not destroy it either.

Chain Link 1: Some monster effect


In Topic: Random Rulings

25 March 2017 - 10:34 PM

Windwitch - Snow Bell

A WIND Synchro Monster that was Summoned using this card as Synchro Material cannot be destroyed by your opponent's card effects.

1) Once the WIND Synchro Monster that was Synchro Summoned using Windwitch - Snow Bell as Synchro Material is Set, it no longer retains the benefits. It will be destroyed by Raigeki.

 

Victory Dragon

If this card attacks your opponent directly and reduces their Life Points to 0, you win the Match.

2) The rulebook makes a distinction between "Match" and "Duel". A Match consists of more than one Duel, with both players trying to win two to win the Match. If Victory Dragon attacks directly and reduces the opponent's LP to 0, you win the Match. Not just the Duel (as saying "you win the Duel" would be redundant since their LP are 0).

 

Second part... no part of Victory Dragon's effect states that it forces the opponent's LP to 0. It just says if it attacks directly and it reduces the opponent's LP to 0 as a result, you win the Match.

 

Solemn Warning

When a monster(s) would be Summoned, OR when a Spell Card, Trap Card, or monster effect is activated that includes an effect that Special Summons a monster(s): Pay 2000 LP; negate the Summon or activation, and if you do, destroy that card.

Artifact Sanctum

If this card in its owner's possession is destroyed by an opponent's card: You can target 1 card on the field; destroy that target.

3) Solemn Warning destroys. Artifact Sanctum can be activated.

 

Zoodiac Ratpier

An Xyz Monster whose original Type is Beast-Warrior and has this card as Xyz Material gains this effect.

And no, if Effect Veiler/Breakthrough Skill target Zoodiac Ratpier, they will not negate the effect which grants the Xyz Monster using it as Xyz Material an additional effect.

 

Goblindbergh

When this card is Normal Summoned: You can Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower monster from your hand, also, after that, change this card to Defense Position.

Star Seraph Scepter

When this card is Normal or Special Summoned: You can add 1 "Star Seraph" monster from your Deck to your hand, except "Star Seraph Scepter".

4) Goblindbergh's text states "also, after that", which means the actions of Special Summoning a monster and switching that monster to Defense Position are not simultaneous. Therefore, Star Seraph Scepter's effect to add a monster to the hand when Summoned cannot be activated.


In Topic: Corruption Cell "A"

25 March 2017 - 09:07 PM

The one ruling I see on this page that it has seems to imply that it does target.


In Topic: Dust Tornado second effect W/ Paleo

25 March 2017 - 01:00 PM

(Ive been told summoning is always the highest chainlink and therefore always happens first, but i figure its best to confirm this for sure) 

THanks :)

That isn't how Chains work.

 

A Chain is created when a card/effect is activated in response to another card/effect.

 

To use your scenario: If Dust Tornado is activated, then the Paleozoic card is activated in response, then the Chain is as follows:

 

Chain Link 1: Dust Tornado; target something (and nothing else at this moment in time)

Chain Link 2: Paleozoic

 

You continue building the Chain until neither player has anything they wish to add to the Chain.

 

After that, you resolve the Chain backwards.

 

Chain Link 2: Paleozoic (carry out the effect that was activated here)

Chain Link 1: Dust Tornado, destroy the target (if possible)

 

MadRest already described how the Chain you provided resolves, so I'll get to my main point, which was: An effect being able to Summon does not magically make it the highest Chain Link. It depends on how the Chain is built.


In Topic: [TCG] With Regards to the Forbidden & Limited List Changes

22 March 2017 - 04:20 PM

Wait so I got a question about brain control.

 

How is it interactions with effect monsters from the main deck that say either "Must first be special summoned". I'm assuming you can't use Brain control on those monsters right?

Don't those monsters also say "Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set."? That would make them unable to be targeted by Brain Control.


Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.