Jump to content

dabestgamer

dabestgamer

Member Since 18 Aug 2011
Currently Not online
Offline Last Active Today, 11:17 AM
***--

#2460950 Dust Tornado second effect W/ Paleo

Posted by dabestgamer on 25 March 2017 - 01:00 PM

(Ive been told summoning is always the highest chainlink and therefore always happens first, but i figure its best to confirm this for sure) 

THanks :)

That isn't how Chains work.

 

A Chain is created when a card/effect is activated in response to another card/effect.

 

To use your scenario: If Dust Tornado is activated, then the Paleozoic card is activated in response, then the Chain is as follows:

 

Chain Link 1: Dust Tornado; target something (and nothing else at this moment in time)

Chain Link 2: Paleozoic

 

You continue building the Chain until neither player has anything they wish to add to the Chain.

 

After that, you resolve the Chain backwards.

 

Chain Link 2: Paleozoic (carry out the effect that was activated here)

Chain Link 1: Dust Tornado, destroy the target (if possible)

 

MadRest already described how the Chain you provided resolves, so I'll get to my main point, which was: An effect being able to Summon does not magically make it the highest Chain Link. It depends on how the Chain is built.




#2457581 [V Jump] New Rules

Posted by dabestgamer on 17 February 2017 - 09:01 PM

Consider this instead, Konami; 

 

-Keep the monster zones and Pendulum Zone the same, but add in a new 'Link Zone' where the 'extra monster zone' would be. Link Monsters could only be Link Summoned to the Link Zone under normal conditions, but whatever adjacent zone is pointed to by the 'Link Marker' would be another Link Zone that you can Link Summon Link Monsters to. Keep the ability to summon extra deck monsters to regular monster zones, and don't tear the Pendulum Zones down either. Just make a new zone specifically exclusive for Link monsters, and that'll keep the game more than playable, but more importantly, it'll make using Link monsters an option, not a requirement. 

The counter to this is that the new ruleset and Zone setup was meant to balance the game by preventing severe Extra Deck spam.

 

Your solution doesn't do that.




#2454805 Goyo Guardian TCG

Posted by dabestgamer on 22 January 2017 - 08:15 PM

for goyo guardian in tcg i need earth tuner?

 

it won't be applied for the TCG version of Goyo Guardian anytime soon.

As chaseer said, the TCG doesn't have this errata.

 

So until the time it gets the errata, you go with the current one, which does not restrict you on what Tuner you can use.




#2454125 Trap Card "Appropriate"

Posted by dabestgamer on 13 January 2017 - 10:25 AM

Appropriate

Activate only when your opponent draws a card(s), except during their Draw Phase. Draw 2 cards.

Dark World Dealings

Each player draws 1 card, then each player discards 1 card.

Regarding your scenario, this is because "Appropriate" states to activate "when" something happens. "When" means it must be the last action to occur to activate the card initially. After which, it will apply every time.

 

From the text on Dark World Dealings, we see that it has a "Do A, then do B" clause, meaning the drawing and discarding are not simultaneous. Thus, when Dark World Dealings finishes resolving, the last action to occur was discarding, therefore Appropriate cannot be activated.

 

Monster Slots

Target 1 face-up monster you control and 1 monster in your Graveyard with the same Level; banish the target from the Graveyard, then draw 1 card and reveal it, then if the card you drew is a monster with the same Level as the monster on the field, Special Summon it.

Same thing here. It has a "Do A, then do B" clause. So if a monster is Special Summoned, then that will have been the last action to have occurred.

 

I may have to be corrected on the case of a monster not being Special Summoned.

 

Another thing, you never draw from the activation of appropriate do you? Only after the activation then the next instance of them drawing a card would you draw 2?

That is correct. You don't draw on the initial activation of the Trap Card itself.




#2453690 Non-HERO Heroes

Posted by dabestgamer on 06 January 2017 - 11:40 PM

They have "Hero" in their name, but they are not "HERO" monsters. (Note the use of all capital letters.)

 

This is one case (I don't remember off-hand if any others exist, if at all) where the text stating ""HERO" monster" is case-sensitive.

 

So no, you cannot use any "Oscillo Hero", "Hero of the East", or "Hero Kid" as the ""HERO" monster" that is required by cards such as Elemental HERO Absolute Zero.




#2452128 Stardust Dragon-like effects.

Posted by dabestgamer on 21 December 2016 - 12:04 PM

Stardust Dragon, Herald of the Arc Light, and any other such which makes itself leave the field for an activation Cost of one of its effects is an effect which activates and resolves on the field, regardless of the card itself physically moves to.

 

This means that such monsters are negated by effects which negate a monster's effects on the field, such as Effect Veiler or Breakthrough Skill, you can still pay their activation Cost, but the effect will still be negated.

 

This is present in Card Rulings such as Effect Veiler and Exiled Force.

 

EDIT (so it's all in one post): Cards like Skill Drain and Lose 1 Turn, as stated below, will only negate a monster's effects while that monster is face-up on the field; therefore, if you pay the activation Cost of Stardust Dragon, Herald of the Arc Light, or other such monster effects that make themselves leave the field for their Cost, they will resolve normally.




#2449307 Dueling network coming back

Posted by dabestgamer on 27 November 2016 - 06:29 AM

Zero.




#2448752 What are some signs that someone is a yugioh noob?

Posted by dabestgamer on 22 November 2016 - 02:59 AM

Ok, I can follow that. But then I return to my original point, I am not only talking about the competitive environment, and in a casual setting games can last long enough for the drawback to make you lose. And I still do not understand what you mean by it improving consistency. I can see that it clearly hurts your deck's consistency in a very drastic uncontrollable way. What Pot of Desires gives you is speed/more resources, but it doesn't improve consistency! Does knowing that you banished X amount of your combo cards make the rest of your deck better? No! It just means you know how screwed you are from using Desires.

 

It does improve consistency. 12 cards are gone from your Deck. 2 went to your hand, and 10 are cards that never would've been drawn in the first place because the Duel would've ended before reaching them. The 10 random cards that would've stayed at the bottom of the Deck if it was Pot of Greed instead of being banished by Desires. It's the simple concept of "deck-thinning = improved consistency".

 

You're thinking too much of "what do I lose?" and not "what don't I lose?" because you still increase your odds of getting what you do need with 12 less cards in your Deck. And if you're using multiple copies of key cards, they're not all going to get banished by one Desires. As long as the cards not lost contain what you need, you removed a fourth of your Deck that most likely would've gotten in the way of drawing it. At this point, I'd just be going back to my Pot of Greed comparison (again).

 

The other problem with your statement is you're thinking too much about the cost to activate Desires, and how hypothetically bad the backlash from it would be; in practice, on the other hand, it makes the good Decks that do run it perform better meaning that, for them, the cost is negligible. Which is why many say it's a good card. Which is why there's a lot of demand for it. Which is why its price is where it is. It's all a result of how much it's boosted consistency and performance in the Decks that run it.

 

The "casual setting" is hardly relevant as to whether a card is overall good/powerful or not because the "casual setting" does not determine that.

 

If your Deck cannot run Desires, that's fine. If you're going to continue playing casually, cool. But none of that changes how strong Desires is.




#2448737 What are some signs that someone is a yugioh noob?

Posted by dabestgamer on 22 November 2016 - 12:47 AM

 

1) I agree and I said pretty much the same thing in an earlier post. But what you don't realize is that Pot of Desires doesn't improve your consistency, it screws it up. It's random, and the cards banished almost can't be recovered. You can't argue with that.

As pointed out before, the 10 lost cards are negligible; in a setting where Duels end fast (within 2-3 turns or so), those 10 lost cards are essentially the 10 cards you would never have reached before the Duel ended.

 

This makes Pot of Desires much like Pot of Greed, but knowing what 10 cards you would never have reached anyway, while still increasing your hand to have better odds of getting what you do need--which you are likely running multiple copies of. And these cards you need are not likely to all be banished by one Desires. (Literally think of it as Pot of Greed, but being able to know which 10 cards--a random 10 cards in your Deck, mind you--that are at the bottom of your Deck; they're just banished instead of being at the bottom, so the fact that they're not recoverable means pretty much nothing to the player since, in the Pot of Greed comparison I'm making, they would not have been reached by the Duel's end, anyway.)

 

(It feels like I've pointed out this comparison a few times before. I can't possibly imagine why.)

 

Thus, your statement about Desires ruining a player's Deck's consistency isn't all that correct because it improves consistency, not hurt it. And it's why the majority agree it's a good card and, more importantly, why its price is so high.




#2448450 What are some signs that someone is a yugioh noob?

Posted by dabestgamer on 20 November 2016 - 09:33 PM

anyway to that argument about a card that banishes 10 of your own cards or something? ordinarily that would be bad but I'm assuming there must be something that will let you get those ten cards or something?

As pointed out, Duels are faster now.

 

If a Duel ends fast enough, there are still a good chunk of cards in the Deck that are never seen, right?

 

At least 10 or so cards, right? 10... How many cards does Pot of Desires banish? 10.

 

The 10 you banish for the cost of activating Pot of Desires are essentially 10 of the cards you would never have seen if the Duel ends fast enough, which basically makes Pot of Desires very much like Pot of Greed in this regard. And we don't need to talk about why Pot of Greed is amazing, right?

 

Plus, multiple copies. Generally, you're probably going to have 2-3, or perhaps more, of your key card(s)s to get your Deck going, right? What are the odds that one usage of Pot of Desires nails all of them in one go? Not very high. It's almost negligible.




#2444936 Pay frame omega

Posted by dabestgamer on 01 November 2016 - 02:20 AM

PSY-Framelord Omega

Once per turn, during either player's Main Phase: You can banish this card from the field and 1 random card from your opponent's hand, face-up, until your next Standby Phase.

 

1) This effect of PSY-Framelord Omega has no Cost, so everything happens during resolution.

 

Chain Link 1: PSY-Framelord Omega

Chain Link 2: Fiendish Chain; target PSY-Framelord Omega.

 

Resolve backwards.

 

Chain Link 2: Fiendish Chain, while it is face-up on the field, negates PSY-Framelord Omega's effect and prevents it from attacking.

Chain Link 1: PSY-Framelord Omega resolves, but it is negated by the effect of Fiendish Chain.

 

As you can see, nothing will be banished if the Chain is as you see here.

 

2) If PSY-Framelord Omega's effect banishes itself and another card and if either of the two cards were to no longer be banished before they would return to their original locations, the other card would still go back to where it was.




#2444043 Magician of Dark Illusion after using solemn strike

Posted by dabestgamer on 26 October 2016 - 10:37 PM

Magician of Dark Illusion
‚óŹ During your opponent's turn, if you activate a Spell/Trap Card or effect (except during the Damage Step): You can Special Summon this card from your hand.

This effect is a Trigger Effect, and it can be activated in response to the resolution of your Solemn Strike, assuming you have activated it during your opponent's turn.




#2443505 Why I Don't Believe In The Heart Of The Cards

Posted by dabestgamer on 24 October 2016 - 05:43 PM

I just thought of something. Maybe you guys say Pot of Desires the banishing part doesnt matter cos you all use it so if the opponent banish 10 cards too (with their own copy) then you dont really have less cards then its ok? No but then you still risk losing important stuff!!

It has nothing to do with most, if not all, players choosing to run Pot of Desires for the sake of some equal playing field. People that choose to run Pot of Desires do so regardless of whether or not the opponent is using it for whatever reason(s) that opponent has; they've still increased their odds of winning.

 

Having less cards is also irrelevant; you still increase your odds of getting what you need to win and it still does not change the fact that the 10 cards you lost are essentially the 10 cards that you never would've reached once the Duel ended, anyway.

 

Losing important stuff isn't that big a risk when players run multiple copies of their key cards (whenever possible and as much as possible). The likelihood of losing all copies of such key cards to one Pot of Desires is so low that it's negligible. And again, losing cards still doesn't matter if you get what you need to win.

 

As I said, this is the kind of thing that players consider when adding cards to their Deck and why they make such choices; these players believe that these risks are worth taking in order to help them win more games.

 

Making good deckbuilding choices, taking things like this into consideration, will help them go much further that just "believing".




#2443487 Why I Don't Believe In The Heart Of The Cards

Posted by dabestgamer on 24 October 2016 - 05:01 PM

Then you might win but you are actively screwing up your own deck so dont count on it

In any high-level Duel, the 10 cards you banish by Pot of Desires are, in a sense, the 10 cards you would probably never have reached once it ended anyway. Thinking of it like this, Pot of Desires ends up being very much like Pot of Greed (not 100% like it, of course), which most people will agree is a very good card.

 

With the addition of banishing 10 cards from your Deck, you've taken 12 cards out of your Deck in total, and you increase your odds at getting cards you need. The benefits of thinning out your Deck by this much and your hand increasing outweigh the cost--to the point where the cost is meaningless because the user is that much more closer to getting out of a bad situation and/or winning the game.

 

This is the kind of thing that would aid a player far better than just simply "believing".




#2439395 Chaos Emperor Dragon and Xyz Materials

Posted by dabestgamer on 08 October 2016 - 06:23 PM

Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End

Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must first be Special Summoned (from your hand) by banishing 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster from your Graveyard. You can pay 1000 Life Points; send all cards in both players' hands and on the field to the Graveyard, then inflict 300 damage to your opponent for each card sent to the Graveyard by this effect.

 

Firstly, as pointed out above, Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End is completely incapable of sending cards to the Graveyard that are not on the field.

 

Second, even though its effect sent an Xyz Monster with Xyz Materials attached to the Graveyard, the effect only sent the Xyz Monster itself to the Graveyard (as that was the card that was on the field). Its effect did not send the Xyz Materials to the Graveyard (which, again, were not on the field). The Xyz Materials were only sent to the Graveyard because the Xyz Monster they were attached to was no longer on the field. Therefore, they will not be counted when calculating the amount of damage Chaos Emperor Dragon's effect will inflict.






Welcome to the Dueling Network Forums!

To sign in, use your duelingnetwork.com account. If you do not have one, register here.